Day 45: Denver: Rest day #2 - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2006

Day 45: Denver: Rest day #2

First rest day since Radford, VA on day 9! but I was up really early (sleeping in the car isn't conducive to sleeping in) and at the airport way before my mom's flight arrived. Started wandering around the airport and worked on my journal a little bit, but I was too tired to write anything well. I'd been to this airport on the way back from 9 weeks abroad at the end of my undergrad, but that was in December and much, much colder.

Mom made it in uneventfully despite fears of being stopped at security for carrying baby powder or fingernail clippers or whatever, and we had plenty of time before we could check into the hotel and no agenda for the day. She was happy to see I still had all my fingers and toes and surprised me with a 30th anniversary Adventure Cycling t-shirt. We found second breakfast at a Panera's (home sweet home!) and headed out to Red Rocks ampitheater since she'd never been out there. More driving back through Denver, a quick lunch, and I was ready to persuade the hotel to let us check in a couple hours early (which they did).

Me at the famous Red Rocks ampitheater
Heart 1 Comment 0
No!!! Don't go!!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mom modeling the Adventure Cycling shirt she got for both of us
Heart 0 Comment 0

Had another good nap (why wasn't I taking naps earlier in the trip?), rode the hotel shuttle to the downtown area where we had dinner and a rainstorm, and went back for some hot tub time. Sadly missed Forrest Gump on TV, but I headed to bed sleepy and warm.

Mmm. Nap...pillows...bed...Mmm
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0