Deep Down, I Might Be A City Slicker - CHEESY RIDER - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2022

Deep Down, I Might Be A City Slicker

Madison, Wisconsin

I like to watch a city wake up in the morning. I rarely get to see one wake up from ten stories up.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I wanted to explore more of Madison today, so I booked another night in my 10th floor hotel room.  So far, I've only used the elevator to get up to my 10th floor hotel room, but maybe when I get back from my exploration of the city, I will carry my bike back up the stairs to my 10th floor hotel room.  Perhaps you've noticed how I like to brag about my 10th floor hotel room.

I rode up and down many downtown streets, but my main focus was on the State Capital Building, the University of Wisconsin campus, and funky State Street.

The rest of this post will consist of a bunch of pictures.

The governmental center of Wisconsin.
Heart 7 Comment 0
It's obvious how excited I am to be at the Capitol building. Wish you were here.
Heart 8 Comment 0
I found an executive parking space for Son of Bing Bong before going inside.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Karen PoretNotice how you have distanced your bike from the other one and the scooter..Oh, I get it! You know your bike is so cool it emits “smoke”, and the sign specifically states “NO Smoking within 25 feet of any exterior door”.. tres chic, Greg!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Karen PoretSon of Bing Bong doesn't just emit smoke, it has a three-pack-a-day smoking habit. You can't bring him anywhere. I'm trying to get him to quit.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
The first thing I did was look up into the dome. Cool.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Quite a few groups of school kids and their chaperones were touring the capital.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Magestique!
Heart 7 Comment 0
Hey, Lieutenant Governor Barnes, is there something you can do about those grate-less fire rings at Governor Dodge State Park?
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Wisconsin Supreme Court Chambers. This is where the most important legal cases in the state are heard. I'm sure many of those cases are pretty obscure. Most Wisconsiners would prefer that the Supreme Court hear cases on whether the Green Bay Packers' opposing team's wide receiver had both feet down before going out of bounds on that touchdown catch. Or did their quarterback have his knee down before he fumbled? That's the important stuff.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A nice view of the capital building from the ultra-hip State Street. That street suffered extensive damage during the George Floyd demonstrations, but it's recovering nicely. It is lined on both sides with ethnic restaurants, boutiques, used clothing stores, tattoo parlors, little markets, food trucks, head shops, a comedy club, music venues, and freaky stuff of all kinds. I dig it!
Heart 10 Comment 1
marilyn swettWe also had riots around our capitol in Denver. They erected chain link fences all around the building and boarded up the lower windows that I think have only recently been removed. Sad......
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nice science building on the U.W. campus.
Heart 4 Comment 5
Scott AndersonAre you sure it’s a science building?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonYes, I'm as sure as I've ever been about anything. Unless, that is, the lettering is a ruse.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierLooks like Hogwarts to me…
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich FrasierHi Rich,
Yes, it does have that look.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen PoretTo Scott AndersonNo, it’s a hall..
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
The campus overlooks Lake Mendota.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I don't know what this building is, but it's certainly older than anything you'll find in Europe.
Heart 5 Comment 4
Keith KleinHi,
I don’t know either, and I should because I was a post doc in Madison for three years. But then I wasn’t allowed out of the lab in Birge Hall except to go home and sleep or once a week for ice cream in Babcock Hall. I did like Madison in the summer. Winter, not so much. Epic cycling community there.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinI did see that it was originally an armory, but I don't know what it is now. And yes, Madison is full of cyclists and some really great looking bike shops.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonI was going to say that it was probably the old armory too. It does have that look. That, or a science building.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierOr Hogwarts. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Camp Randall Stadium is where the Wisconsin Badgers football team plays.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I only took this photo because I liked the tall white tower and the clouds behind it.
Heart 4 Comment 0

So, this extra day in Madison has given me an opportunity to change the itinerary for the last few days of this tour.   My thinking in this matter was, "why go backwards through pretty much the same scenery I've already ridden through?  Why not continue to the east coast of Wisconsin?"  (That would be Lake Michigan.)

I can catch the Amtrak train in Milwaukee just as well as in La Crosse.  OH YEAH, I have a new plan!

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 230 miles (370 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonSounds like a great new plan!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamThis post helps bring back memories of our tour around the city and appreciation of the in and out of the capital building as well as U of Wisconsin. Great time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Adam Zamora"I love this plan. I'm excited to be a part of it."
-Dr. Peter Venkman

Sounds like it'll be a great end of the trip. Be sure to visit the Bicycle Doctor in Dousman. https://www.bikedr.com

Also, have a great time in Milwaukee!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Adam ZamoraI like Bill Murray, but I think Harold Ramis went on to do some of the coolest stuff.
I saw the Bicycle Doctor when I rode through Dousman. It's amazing to see such a nice bike shop in such a small town.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago