Jaco to Quepos, and some Wave Runner action - Central America - CycleBlaze

January 18, 2023

Jaco to Quepos, and some Wave Runner action

It rained out last night - a lot!  I didn’t hear it rain though, and I am a light sleeper.  As long as the rains come overnight, I am OK with it. But heading inland over the next couple of days, I’m pretty sure I will get rained on a little bit at least. Wow, it sure is super humid this morning.

And I got my French toast!  So, I had plenty of calories to start off the day, and it was not that hard of a day either.  All pretty flat.  I wanted to get to get to my hotel early and scout the town out, unlike the past few days. I had to buy my Manuel Antonio nature park ticket online yesterday, and it is for a timed entry tomorrow, so I want to make sure to get all that right too. I’m really looking forward to getting up close and personal with a lot of the Costa Rican animals here!  And then, after tomorrow, I don’t have another rest day for a while. I’ll be done with the fun activities for a bit, and it will just be saddle time and putting some miles behind me and crossing my fingers on my back tire, but its looking okay still for now.

I had a run-in at breakfast with one of the community’s more outstanding citizens. She came up to my outside table to sit down and started speaking in Spanish I little bit. I told her immediately that I had to do some work on my phone, which I was doing anyway. The hostess immediately came out and asked if she was my friend, and of course, I said no. The hostess tried to get her to leave which she did eventually, about 10 steps away from the entrance, and then just kept chatting and chatting and chatting, for like 15 minutes. I told the hostess that she could have a career in sales! Eventually, the hostess had to call the police to come to get her to leave. Apparently, she visits all of the local restaurants. I recall seeeing her the day before, and even the evening when I came in.  I remember because she was wearing the same outfit then! By the time the police got there, apparently the story was that I was her husband. She blabbered to the police for about five minutes while I went to the restroom, and when I got back she was gone and the police were gone finally. Oh well, it all adds to the experience! 

I saw a couple Macaw parrots today. They landed and I actually got a picture of them, but I had to really zoom in and the sun was right behind them so it did not turn out so great.

I had an interest in a 3:00 wave runner tour as well in Quepos.  I took a little break just before town for a banana and some left over cake, and then got to town a just rode around a bit to get my lay of the land.  It didn’t take long.  Much smaller than Jaco.  I checked into my hotel just after noon.  Threw everything in my room, changed a bit, then headed out for the marina (where the wave runner tours were) at about 12:30, stopping at all the restaurants to look at menus along the way. I found the office for the wave runner tours but they said they were not ding a 3:00 tour today, just 1:00, and it was now 12:45.  Crap.  But there was a driver there that was willing to drive me back to my hotel so I could change.  I did that, and made it back to the office with about 5 min to spare.  There was only one other couple doing this with me – from Pittsburgh.  There’s just so much to do in these few beach towns of CR, and I didn’t really plan to do so much before I started the trip, but while I’m here…who knows, I may never make it back to do any of these things ever again.  I always say, every day you get is precious and a blessing, so make the most of it – whatever that means for you.  I tend to pack the crap out of each day, myself!

Lots of rain last night
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mmmm.... French toast. Lots of good simple carbs!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of cyclists out on the road this morning. And dogs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Highway 34 is such a nice bike a bull road that runs right along the Pacific ocean. One of the best quality cycling routes I have been on in Central America so far. No road debris either in the shoulder. Very little garbage still. This route is very similar to Highway one, the Pacific Coast Highway, although I would probably rank it better as far as fewer hills, fewer curves and a lot less dangerous than the Pacific coast highway. I can't believe CR makes it illegal to ride bikes along here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking at back at where I stayed in Jaco
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
"We don't have Outstanding food, we just have plain Typical food"
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pelicans!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A huge beach, under some gorgeous homes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stopped for a pineapple snack - so sweet!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hotel mascot
Heart 1 Comment 0
My dinner tonight of a buffalo chicken burger, fries, and a caipirinha, the only drink in the world that might be better than a margarita (IMO)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Absolutely blessed again tonight to listen to my bird cacophony while witnessing another magical sunset. The world is so beautiful if you choose to focus on the good, and not the negativity, news, and hatred.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,543 miles (2,483 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0