Jaco and Extreme Canyoning - Central America - CycleBlaze

January 17, 2023

Jaco and Extreme Canyoning

The difference between this beach town of Jaco and Punta arenas is that Jaco is a great base for lots of activities nearby. Both towns are great for food, though, and I am a real foodie!  On of my secret reasons for cycling so much too is so I can splurge and eat anything and as much as I want, as normally, I eat pretty healthy.  I finally found my pancakes this morning at a little café right near my hotel!  Not like Denny’s still.  They open early and have French toast too, so, maybe I’ll try that and load up on some syrup and simple carbs before I head out on the road tomorrow.

As far as activities go, there are just tons of tours that one can do out of Jaco. A Google search revealed probably over 50 unique things you can do here – everything from a city walk to an alligator boat tour to Tarzaning and skydiving!  A lot of them are in Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, but I am heading there tomorrow anyway as part of my southbound journey, and plan to visit this Nature Park on Thursday. So today, I decided to do an extreme waterfall and canyoning experience!  

When I paid for the reservation this morning, there was only five of for a 1:00 tour, but then a group of 16 joined in, so it took an extra long time and we got back late.  I was not able to bring my hand-held camera, as they told us not to bring anything that could get lost, and you have to use both hands all the time anyway, but there were two other couples in our group that were from Idaho Falls and one had a camera in a waterproof bag that he gave to a guide to get some really good still pictures of us.  In exchange, I got some good video of them, since you can’t really see me anyway since my GoPro was on my helmet.  This activity was a lot more fun than I thought actually.  I never had the whole fear of heights set in, probably because there was so much safety stuff around me.  I’ve never rappelled before.  It just took a while to go from one waterfall to the next with that big of a group.  I actually felt the coldest today that I have on my entire journey with all that mist and breeze, but it felt good!

Finally - some pancakes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our group, heading out to the waterfalls. From left to right - the Pacific Northwesterners; Mike, Ashley, me, DJ, and Courtney. And then a group of 16 from Mexico behind us.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset - not at the beach, but at the adventure park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And then sunset back in town - near the beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Small dinner of vegetable curry with garlic naan bread at a wnd floor Indian restaurant (I had some cake and some popcorn and an apple back in my room while working on this post)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauAll I've got to say is this: Your Central America journal has been uniquely adventurous and a joy to read. I wish you didn't have to stop in Panama.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ken DyckmanThank you Greg! I wish you were with me here, buddy! There are times I'd like to keep going to Argentina, but then there is work, and it would be an easier decision if I weren't married; I miss not experiencing some of this with my wife.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago