Quepos - Day off, Nature Park visit - Central America - CycleBlaze

January 19, 2023

Quepos - Day off, Nature Park visit

It rained out again last night.  I don't particularly like this trend.  But it is what it is.

Today was Manuel Antonio Park day.  What I did not realize is that there is a town right next to the park called Manuel Antonio that has hotels, lots of restaurants, and of course, lots of street vendors. I had an 8 to 9 o'clock time slot to enter the park.  It opens at 7:00, but I wanted to be safe when I bought the reservation to make sure I could get there without issues.  I left early and got to the public bus depot in Quepos here and paid my $.70 for the 7 km journey, which was well worth it, because there were lots of hills and I would have never wanted to try that on my bike.  I got to the park about 7:20am, but they let me in then!  There was hardly anybody there as I went through it. It took me about an hour to get to the end, or to where the beach was, and then on the way back there were tons of people. There was a little snack bar, and the monkey mafia was out in full force, but just tons of people around taking pictures and such so i didn't squeeze in. I never saw the illusive poison dart frog, but saw tons of monkeys, coatimundi, birds, and lots of interesting plants.  It was well worth it! 

 Then, on the way back just outside of town, there was this El Avion restaurant that actually had a real plane there.  So I thought I would eat there (pics below).  Right below it then was this activity that I thought I would try.  I have done zip lines before, and I have done roller coasters before, but I have never done a zip coaster!  That was pretty awesome!  Not a lot of pictures from there unfortunately since you had to hold on with hotels, but I got a helper there to take a video with my camera (see YouTube below).  That was quite a thrill for $12! 

Then, I just went back to the hotel and hung around, caught up with some emails, look for another good place to eat, and then prepared for tomorrow's 65 mile ride. I'll be away from the ocean for a while now.  Definitely going to miss all these little beach towns in CR.

Inside Manuel Antonio National Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where I ate for lunch. What a cool idea!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bar was inside the plane, and the tables were outside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wow it would be so cool to hang out in here with friends!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from my table looking out to the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from my table looking out to the sea. This cannot be beat!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chicken Fajitas and a blended lemonade. Oh, what a change from the ramen days in Guatemala! I'm certainly not expecting this to continue outside of Costa Rica though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
All of the little balusters on the hand rail were custom carvings by the same person. There had to be 150-200 of them here!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The last of the sea sunsets for a while
Heart 0 Comment 0
Its a family affair here - everyone just hanging out watching the sunset and listening to the birds
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0