Day 54 - Kittanning to Gallitzen S.P. - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2016

Day 54 - Kittanning to Gallitzen S.P.

One of my planning goals -
To find a way across western Pennsylvania with less climbing.
I failed.

Managed to survive the funky hotel. And actually got some sleep.
Leaving Kittanning meant a 400-foot climb right away.
It is on the Allegheny River, after all.

Barn Converted into a Garage - Note the Old Stone Foundation
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road to Rural Valley was reasonable and pleasant riding.
Still, it was a state highway with moderate traffic.
But when I got off on Tanoma Valley Road - - wow!
It’s always a treat finding an empty back road.

Tanoma Valley - Back Road, Empty, Reasonable Hills
Heart 0 Comment 0

The reward was a killer hill into metropolitan Clymer.
Ah, but I found a Subway for a late lunch.
I have been hitting Subway quite a lot on this trip.
The sandwiches are good, I can drink a gallon of iced tea,
Catch up on my email and then fill up with ice water before I leave.

Alverda, Penna - Row Houses with Colorful Roofs
Heart 1 Comment 0

Did I mention hills.
The stretch to Patton was one hill after another.
My language was highly questionable - by anyone other than me.
I was perfectly satisfied with every term I used for each hill.
Especially the big downhill into Patton and the stop light.

Church on Top of a Hill in Carrolltown
(Note - No Shortage of Hills Here)
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the Top
Heart 3 Comment 0

And there were more hills getting to the state park.
Gallitzen S.P. is on a reservoir.
And reservoirs fill up the lowlands.
So you get to do a half dozen ridges.
Nothing impossible - just icing on the cake.

Still, I got to the campground pretty early.
Early enough to set up my tent, shower, have an ice cream,
And fall asleep before it even got dark.

Stuff Everywhere
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Lake at Gallitzen State Park
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 3,033 miles (4,881 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0