Day 1 - Cross Country Velocipede Adventure - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2023

Day 1

Yorktown to Willis, VA

Customary dip of rear tire in the Atlantic.
Heart 8 Comment 2
jennielynn scottLove you bunches!
Be safe.
JennieLynn
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Michelle SummersThis is so exciting! Thanks for inviting us along. Praying for you!
MishMash
Reply to this comment
11 months ago


Today was maybe the best day of cycling I’ve ever had. The weather was perfect, most of the ride was on the beautiful Virginia Capitol Trail which is a 52-mile asphalt and boardwalk trail that passes through many historical sites along the way. It runs along the James River and State Route 5. It was also mostly flat! Really an incredible ride. I had no idea Virginia was so beautiful. Everyone was so inquisitive and friendly. At the end of my journey I pulled into the Willis Methodist Church which came complete with a “cyclists’ cupboard,” a shower, full use of the kitchen and the nursery all to myself (mostly for sleeping, but also the toys)! The “cyclists’ cupboard” is a cupboard stocked with all sorts of goodies just for us cyclists to eat! All in all a great day.

I guess if there was one negative… well maybe two, I have a very serious wobble of my front wheel. I think it’s a weight imbalance issue, so I’ll experiment with a different distribution of weight tomorrow. The second negative was saying goodbye to my wife. I’ll miss her dearly.

Official start of my ride at the Yorktown Victory Monument.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Packing the bike in the hotel room
Heart 4 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezI have cycling friends who say they always get two beds. One for them (a couple) and one for their stuff!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Virginia Capitol Trail
Heart 6 Comment 0
Virginia Capitol Trail
Heart 5 Comment 0
Bike shop along the trail!
Heart 7 Comment 0
Water bottle refilling station!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Bike repair stand
Heart 4 Comment 0
Beautiful houses!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the trail
Heart 7 Comment 0
My digs for the evening
Heart 4 Comment 0
Toys!
Heart 5 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesEnjoy the toys, but be sure to clean up before you go to sleep!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 62 miles (100 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bob DistelbergLooking forward to following along. Looks like you had a great first day.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago