Steps one, two or three - Cycleblazing in the Black Forest - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2022

Steps one, two or three

That little worry about getting on the train was still lurking at the back of my mind. Perhaps a dress rehearsal would be reassuring? I was up early and after a quick breakfast I set off to Munich's Central Station to have a look at that IC departing at 8:46 for Karlsruhe, the train I would be taking on Monday in two weeks. I didn't have my bike with me, I just wanted to check things  out.

Waiting for the train with a lot of other people I felt just as excited as if I were actually off on a big trip myself. The train was 30 minutes late which gave me time to chat up the two cyclists on the platform waiting for the train to Karlsruhe.  No, they didn't know what kind of entry the train had, but we would soon see. They didn't seem too worried. 

I am there bright and early, but this time without my bike.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I don't see any bicycles, then realize I am at the wrong end of the platform.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There it is, the IC 1298, 30 minutes behind schedule.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Scott AndersonI didn’t know German trains were ever behind schedule.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonI'm afraid the Deutsche Bahn has outgrown its image.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Waiting for the train - this cyclist said he could lift his bike, an e-bike, with all his bags up the steps onto the train unaided. I said chapeau.
Heart 4 Comment 0
First view of the entry to the bicycle compartment - aha, some steps
Heart 1 Comment 0
I also had a chat with this gentleman who is traveling light. He lifted his bike on by himself, I'm not sure if it was effortlessly.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The cyclist in red said hanging his bike on the hook was no problem for him, help came anyway.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Very quiet and not crowded, looks like it will be a comfortable ride.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Getting a look at the train was a good idea. It didn't make the steps go away or give me super strength to lift my bike by myself, but it did give me a realistic view of what to expect. Almost all of us who have taken their bikes on trains have some harrowing tales to tell. I guess based on memories of some of our own unnerving experiences, my imagination ran away with me. But it really seems that this is going to be a simple procedure, nothing to worry about.

Another concern is the weather. After months of sun, can we in all fairness expect September to be warm and sunny, too? Let's see what the weather forecast says for our six days in the Black Forest. 

Not bad! If it's accurate.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Rachael AndersonI think being by yourself, you will definitely get help from others! Especially being a women. The one time we have the advantage!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamYour dry run to the train you will be taking is exactly something I would be doing. I don’t like not knowing what to expect and being negatively surprised. I think you will be just fine now that you know. Plus I remain sure that someone will assist you. ;’-).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpI'm so happy for you to have a tour with friends coming up that's also in a 'new-to-you' touring location. That weather forecast looks pretty perfect! And I'm sure someone will help you with those steps - I've always had someone offer to help when travelling with bike in a box and big backpack... and I don't think I look particularly helpless. I do agree those bike hooks are pretty impossible though. Have fun!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Emily SharpThanks, Em!
I read your blog and am so glad that your health is back! Congratulatons on doing a good job at being consistent and disciplined with your therapy. It paid off.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenWe are sitting in the Lisbon ferry terminal and have an hour wait for our ferry to Sexial. Just missed the previous one. I am happy for the wait. Gives me time to catch up on things. We checked out the ferries yesterday for all the same reason you checked the train. No surprises is our motto!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago