Getting ready mentally - Cycleblazing in the Black Forest - CycleBlaze

Getting ready mentally

I thought everything was all set for the trip - but a small fear was lurking in the back of my mind. What kind of train entry will I have to deal with? I hoped  there would be someone to take pity on an old lady trying to get on the train with an e-bike, but what if there wasn't? Would it be a roll-on with no steps, or just two little steps, or three big steps? I found some pictures in the Web.

Best case scenario - but this isn't an Intercity which I will be taking.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I could manage this but help would be welcome.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I definitely can not do this without help.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I'll ignore the hooks for hanging your bike. Even if you are young and fit, it isn't easy to get the wobbling front wheel up there. Whoever designed this hadn't a clue. Or is it a conspiracy of the Deutsche Bahn to discourage cyclists?
Heart 1 Comment 0

While I was studying my ticket that I got through the Internet, trying to find a clue to what model train I would be on, I noticed it said ticket for one bicycle. Did I just buy a ticket and not reserve a space? I couldn't remember. If I wasn't allowed on the train with my bike, that would be the end of the plans for cycling with Susan in the Black Forest. I was all set to go to the Central Train Station to have them read the QR-code on my ticket which I figured contained all the information. Then I noticed in tiny tiny print under reservations it read: 1 Sitzplatz, 1 Fahrrad, Wg. 5, Pl. 56, 147. I don't know if my reserved seat is 56 or if the space for the bike is 56, but if I am on the train with bike and bags, I will be happy.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonGood luck, but I can’t imagine you’ll have trouble coaxing someone into giving you a hand. Just bat your pretty eyelashes at the nearest hunk and look helpless.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamYou are going to have such a wonderful trip and I know there will be help readily available when you need it. When I was in France with a friend we were boarding a train and someone behind me lifted my suitcase, that I had in hand behind me, to assist getting it on the train with me. I had not asked for help but the lighter suitcase felt so fine!! I will be so happy for you and will read every word and ogle over every photo — enviously ;’-).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago