Day 6: The long ride home - Cycleblazing in the Black Forest - CycleBlaze

September 10, 2022

Day 6: The long ride home

Wimbuch - Bühl and Bühl - Munich by train

Our last day together, at least for breakfast we thought. The original plan was that we would cycle back to our starting points, Strasbourg for Susan and Karlsruhe for me. We had trains scheduled to leave in the late afternoon giving us plenty of time to cycle the 45 or so kilometers. But the weather was bleak with rain pouring down when I looked out the window in the morning. Having lost my power bank the day before left me feeling very insecure about the ride anyway, but rain in addition to chances of getting lost and missing my train were not a cheery prospect. 

What luck that we were just three kilometers from the train station in Bühl with a direct connection to Karlsruhe. That was the way I decided to go. I was disappointed not to cycle back to Karlsruhe, I had looked forward to it, but taking the train seemed the only sensible thing to do.

At first Susan wasn't sure if she would wait for the rain to clear and cycle to Strasbourg or go for the train, too, involving one change of trains. She decided to take the train and in spite of the discouraging weather, we made the most of our last day. After unsuccessfully attempting to buy train tickets from the vending machine at the Bühl train station, we gave up and hoped there would be no penalty for buying the train ticket after boarding. (By the way, I was never asked to show my train ticket either on this train or on the train to Munich!) We set our sights on a little cafe that Susan had chosen for an early lunch, a good little cafe with open face sandwiches and Black Forest cake, finally. Wouldn't you know, we forgot to get a picture of it.

Susan tries to buy a ticket to Strasbourg on line.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Coming back from checking out the access to her departure platform - no stairs, hurrah!
Heart 4 Comment 0

We had a wonderful time together. I was delighted that our hasty plans to tour together were such a success. I couldn't want a more congenial travel companion, Susan always positive, cheerful, considerate and supportive. We shared our interest and curiosity for what we saw on our way, had many good laughs and conversations that brought us closer. An experience that I will readily repeat.  Now it was time to say goodbye - until next year, if all goes well.

To the train station it was - our parting selfie
Heart 9 Comment 1
Susan CarpenterThank you Suzanne for your kind words 😔 They are reciprocated
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

The cycle to the train station was short, now came the long part of the ride, the train ride. Bühl to Karlsruhe was only a half an hour, then came a wait of two and a half hours for my three-hour train ride to Munich. I was glad not to be in wet bicycling togs. 

The last excitement of the trip: While waiting in Karlsruhe, I was on the look out for someone looking strong to help me lift my bike onto the train. A young, muscular guy in a tee-shirt on the seat next to me seemed to fill the bill, except he was waiting for a train that was to depart earlier. In the meantime he asked me to watch his bag while he quickly got something to eat. Then my train pulled in but the young, strong man I had singled out was not in sight - and I was watching his bag. I was feeling a little tense. He came back in time, I reminded him that he agreed to help me and at the same time noticed a strong smell of alcohol. Nevertheless, he was eager to help. I showed him where the bike went and in spite of my protests, he insisted on lifting the loaded bike up the stairs before I could get the panniers off. He teetered a bit on the top step, but the bike landed safely. Phew.

In Karlsruhe, waiting for the train to Munich. My arrival and departure were on the same platform so I hung out for the two and a half hours on the platform. Kind of chilly.
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Karlruhe mine was the only bike, later five or six joined me, it was never crowded.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I got help getting off the train in Munich and now knew where to look for a functioning lift to the lower level where I would catch the city train to Gauting. The last bike ride of the day was a short kilometer down the hill from the train station. In the dark with the roads glistening in the light rain, even on this short distance I got that magic feeling how wonderful it is to be sitting on your bike and rolling.

I was home at 8:30 and Janos was there to welcome me with a big hug, happy to see me back safe and sound. He had prepared an evening meal and we sank into our chairs, tired and content.

If you haven't yet read Susan's journal, here it is, her view of the trip.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 8 km (5 miles)
Total: 261 km (162 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Nancy Graham“…even on this short distance I got that magic feeling how wonderful it is to be sitting on your bike and rolling”… this is so very very true Suzanne. Nothing better than being on the saddle of your bike and rolling along. I love reading of your rides — long or short — and do get a bit envious of such tours as this one ;’-). So well done with what appears to have been the perfect biking companion.

So glad (it seems) you are well or at least on the good mend from your recent health issue.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamGlad you enjoyed the tour. Thanks for reading along, Nancy! I hope to be back to cycle.life soon. I'm fine but taking it easy for the time being.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesSuch a joy to read what joy you and Susan had together.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen JonesGlad you could enjoy it, too!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago