Day 1: Hurrah in Rastatt - Cycleblazing in the Black Forest - CycleBlaze

September 5, 2022

Day 1: Hurrah in Rastatt

Karlsruhe - Rastatt

I got an extra early start. Often the city trains into Munich are delayed and I didn't want to risk that. But the 7:02 train was on time and we were at the Hauptbahnhof a half an hour later.

Waiting for the S-Bahn in Gauting
Heart 2 Comment 0

 We needed two elevators to get to the level where the trains depart, the first one worked, the second one not. That is what the extra time is good for. Fortunately there was another elevator at the other end of the underground station...  and it was working. 

It would have been a long wait.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The train was on time and after Janos put me on the train, I relaxed for the three hour ride to Karlsruhe. I got help getting my bike off the train and before I knew it, my bags were on the platform, too. Lots of kind souls out there.

Today the temperatures went up to 30C and just two days ago I thought I felt autumn in the air. My 30-km route from Karlsruhe to Rastatt where Susan and I were to meet, was uneventful, no, it was actually unattractive. First I had a look at Karsruhe Palace and its gardens on my way out of town, the most interesting part of the ride.

On the way to the Karlsruhe Palace, I felt tempted to join the children playing in the fountain.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Rich FrasierThey probably would have loved it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The blue majolica path in the palace garden - "In 2000, a blue stripe was created through the palace garden, a path leading to the majolica factory. The strip is composed of 1645 blue ceramic tiles."
Heart 7 Comment 0
Palace and Karl Friedrich Grossherzog von Baden
Heart 6 Comment 0
Karlsruhe Palace
Heart 7 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesThey sure knew how to build ’em back in the day, didn’t they?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I followed a stream for a while and then was on a bicycle path next to the highway. I found one bench and shade for a break and a bite to eat, the rest was in the hot sun. I hope I did a better job planning the coming days.

After many kilometers the only shade
Heart 3 Comment 0

I dawdled a bit, made a small detour to what I thought might be an interesting church (it wasn't) to break up the monotony of the bike path and arrived at the hotel around three. Not soon after I got a message from Susan saying she just had three more kilometers to go. From my window I saw her riding into the driveway of the hotel, hurrah. She made it from Paris, I made it from Munich! Now let the tour begin.

But first let's eat. We sat outdoors at an Italian place and had a wonderful evening catching up. Then early to bed - I was so tired after the excitement the day. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 km (19 miles)
Total: 31 km (19 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe wish good weather and a lot of good times for your ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamAnd you’re off!! To a good start too. Same weather here — thought for sure I was deep in Fall and then came 80 degrees again. Wishing you the best weather, the best time and lots of fun. Enjoy.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierSo glad you got help on the trains when you needed it! Have a great adventure!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonGlad to hear you made it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenSo great to read it all went well!!!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago