Riding to my favorite places - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

December 30, 2021

Riding to my favorite places

Jacinto's route.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We've really gotten into the vacation mode. Sleeping in, eating out, no housework. We have a washer/dryer here. We don't have to rinse bike clothes out each evening! Base camp riding does have it's perks. I'm happy we haven't been touring the past few days that weather has been gloomy and cold. Jacinto just got in the door now, and it's started to rain enough to see rain dripping on the eves. Tomorrow looks like a no go on riding. 97% chance of rain. The next day doesn't look better. After we go home, the weather app shows all sunshine and 70's for Tucson!

We have a dinner date tonight with Kurt and Jan. We need to leave by 4:30 PM. After sitting around, wishing it would warm up, we started scurrying to leave.

I had plans for an out and back route to Harrison Greenway and Julian Wash - my two favorite areas of the loop. Jacinto rode a mostly out and back up Mt Lemmon. He imposed a 2 PM deadline on himself for a turnaround point. That put him 7.5 miles up the road. Jacinto brought a rain coat to cut the chill on the way down, but made it to 4,7xx feet, and was still cold.

I saw another coyote close to my favorite arch on Julian Wash. I saw him cross the road, but the greenery in that area was so thick that I didn't even try to get a photo. He appeared much taller than the two I saw yesterday.

I saw that big group of Christmas cyclists again. This time they did not have Christmas finery on, but I'm pretty sure it was the same group, mostly because I could identify a red long wheel base recumbent. 

At my last potty break before home, a maintenance man was finishing up the bathrooms. I had an informative conversation with John. He said they clean the trail on Monday and Friday with the big blower. The trail is divided into six sections. His section finishes at the elementary school on Rita Road. John said his wife thought he was crazy when he took that job, he had done some sort of corporate work before. John said he had been correct - they hadn't lost their house and the kids were still talking to them. John said he was much happier doing this work. 

I had a good, if cold ride. There wasn't much traffic on the path, so no exciting views like the lady yesterday. Wait. Did I tell you about her? A 30something woman on a diamond frame bicycle, wearing a gray t-shirt. I thought it had red graphics, but as I got closer, I could see it was actually a red bra, over the top of her shirt. It wasn't a sports bra, or a lacy bra. Just a regular, very red, very obviously a bra on the outside. IDK if that's some sort of political statement or a movement I've never heard of? She was rocking the look. 

Jacinto says this tuna is ready to eat. They are red when they are ready. Green when they aren't. The spines and outer skin are peeled off with a knife. The tuna is very sweet and juicy. It is full of seeds that you eat. He doesn't like to eat tuna because of the seeds. But, they are very popular and some people eat so many of them that they get constipated.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYum! Just beware of glochids...

https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/cacti-succulents/scgen/what-are-glochids.htm#:~:text=Prickly%20pear%20or%20cholla%20are,the%20fruit%20has%20been%20wetted.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
My favorite!
Heart 3 Comment 0
There’s snow in Tucson!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Jacinto rode 7.5 miles up Mt Lemmon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another photo from Jacinto.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 485 miles (781 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0