Tucson Again! - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

Tucson Again!

Aren't I lucky?

I wasn't planning to write a journal for this Tucson centered trip. I find there's more to write about when I'm moving from town to town.  There is a dearth of journals in the winter, I've had several people encourage me to keep a journal anyway.

Flattery will get you everywhere!

We have 12 riding days. If I stick with Rachael's 42 mile a day average, that will bring me in at 500 miles for the trip. That's a nice, round number.

I have had a little excitement to start. We have an airbnb that was reserved back in February, when prices were dirt cheap. Instructions say that lockbox information will be available on my itinerary three days before the stay. I have been unable to access that information. I sent a message on the 15th, saying we would be arriving a day late, but would be there. I also asked for the lock box information. No reply. I wrote again today, restating the same request. No reply. You know me. I like to have a plan, and stick to it! I waited until the 4 PM check in, thinking that might be the magic hour. Nothing. I called. No answer. I left a voice mail, and waited several more hours. Now it was after check in time on a day I have paid for. Had I really been in town, I would not be happy! 

I approached it from the airbnb side. I initiated a chat on the website. The reply said someone would get to me in 2-5 minutes. 45 minutes later, I tried Ana again on the phone. This time she answered. She seemed a little confused as to which unit we would be staying in, saying they had only one lockbox, and it was on the front unit, waiting for those people to check in. I believe that might be us, because we were supposed to arrive today. Our house number is 2615, that would put us in the back house, Ana says. She would get her daughter to move the lock box over. I should have asked for the daughter's phone, but didn't think of that at the time.

In the meanwhile, it is four hours after my chat was initiated on airbnb. It is still open, I have not received a reply.

By the time our flight arrives tomorrow evening, we retrieve the van, and drive to the airbnb, it will easily be 11 PM. I hope things go well. Oren has said we might be sleeping in the van! It is large enough to sleep in. I have one blanket inside. Is that enough of a contingency plan for the Type A girl? I've taken several deep breaths already! 

Let's see how this shakes out.

For the bicycling side of things, I have not ridden at all in the two weeks I've been home between trips. Here's a link to our  recent Arizona tour. Jacinto rode his bike twice. He thinks his legs will be sore. I think we've been tapering and will enjoy getting back on the bikes. It might be difficult getting up and organized Monday morning, but my plan is to get right out there and ride 42 miles! 

My eight foot long RANS Stratus XP, K style frame.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto has a new Priority Bicycles. Model name 600. It has a Pinion 12 hub and a belt drive. He had 650 miles on the bike and is liking it so far.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This photo was taken between Sonoita and Elgin, in the grasslands. I can’t resist a windmill photo opp!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Kathleen ClassenYikes! I really hate that kind of stress. I am so happy you are blogging again as we sit her in fifty shades of grey with the Canadian government recommending no international travel. Sigh. At least I can enjoy your blog. Good look tomorrow 👍.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Kathleen ClassenLuck not look. I know I should proofread.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltGood to see you will be posting this one! I was a bit disappointed after the last one where you said you would not... Way to go!

Yup, not good to have plans and be unable to contact anyone about changes. Hope it all works out.

Looking forward to following along again.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonWe use AirBnB, but not that often any more. Personally, I hate the organization. We have had several maddening encounters with them that yours remind me of.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonI presumed you use airbnb all the time, stateside, for your multiple week rentals? If not, is there something else? I'd be happy to know!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago