It’s a Bar Bell eating day - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

December 29, 2021

It’s a Bar Bell eating day

My ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A saguaro skeleton?
Heart 2 Comment 0

We had a leisurely morning, watching the rain and checking the weather apps. Even Jacinto had to say that the weather isn't ideal here, but it sure isn't all of the snow they are getting in Colorado!

Finally, both of our stomachs were growling so loudly, we had to eat breakfast. Then we both got ready to leave. I did the toe covers and Buff again. As I was leaving the yard, I could see rain drops wetting my shirt. I left anyway. There were patches of blue in the sky all around. I just needed to find one to ride under!

In our immediate neighborhood, the road and path was very wet. Puddles were everywhere. I got 3-4 miles down the path, and it was completely dry. I followed a similar program as yesterday. I didn't go too far, in case the weather turned. I went down the north side, down the south side, around, around, and back and forth. It was a whole bunch of nowhere.

There were very few people out, either walking or riding. That was bad for people watching, but good for getting miles in. I did see a man on an e bike with two cute terriers in the front basket. He was going fast enough that the dogs' ears were flapping in the wind. 

My day was a get it done sort of day until the very end. I saw two coyotes to my right. They cross the path in front of and headed down the wash. Only when I stopped and stood up to take their photo, did one of them notice me.

I've had two fun animal sightings in two days! Look at me go! Now I need to see a javelina. I haven't seen one in the wild yet. 

I was just barely warm all day. The temperature was in the low 50's with occasional wind. The wind made it cold enough to have a little bite. I was happy to get home. 

Jacinto had already warned me that his left overs are piling up. We aren't going out to eat. I cooked a leftover sausage with onion and potatoes. That was my dinner. Jacinto hasn't eaten yet. There's a repair man doing something to the hot water heater. Lucky me, I got a shower. Jacinto is grumbling that the man said it would be a half hour, about two hours ago. There's no more water to drink in the house. I should have thought faster and filled up a couple of glasses. Jacinto has his priorities - the coffee is going. That was the very last of our water. 

It's going to be a quiet night here. We are going to watch Being the Ricardos. That's our big game plan.

Details of the saguaro.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Ocotillo fence next to the saguaro.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo from North Camino del Codorniz. It was a surprise dirt road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s looking threatening in front of me.
Heart 2 Comment 0
These two crossed the path without noticing me.
Heart 3 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltHere in Dayton, OH, I often see their scat on the bike path, and footprints in the snow. Once in a while, I actually see one, but they are extremely wary here, and disappear before I can even pull out the camera.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonNow, Kelly! We’re serious.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,

We see coyotes semi often at home. It was fun, but not near as exciting as the bobcat sighting yesterday. I snuck up on both, which was interesting because I play music as I ride. You would think they could hear me coming. Perhaps animals in the area are used to people noises - including music.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonThe sad thing is that I’m not getting the photographs you would with the same opportunity. I am appreciating the experience.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
They camouflage well.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another photo from the dirt road.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Edit - I am looking at the photo just now and see that the brand is Barebell - I'm having too much fun with eating a Bar Bell - so I'm letting that stand. 

The rain has quit for now. I have to go ride so I have an excuse to try one of my new selection of bars from Trader Joe’s. Purchasing the Barebell brand was my purpose in going there.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 441 miles (710 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0