Day 3: Bad Kohlgrub to Landsberg - Out and About in Bavaria - 2020 - CycleBlaze

September 10, 2020

Day 3: Bad Kohlgrub to Landsberg

Today we turn our backs on the mountains as we head north on the second half of the loop. We still have some ups and downs but more downs than ups. I'm sorry to leave the views of the Alps and prefer hilly riding to totally flat terrain.

However, before we leave I want to give you a glimpse of where our bicyles spent the night. Bad Kohlgrub is a spa town, denoted by the word "Bad" meaning bath, a place with hot springs that for centuries have been said to have curative properties. In addition to hot soaks, mud baths are also offered in Bad Kohlgrub.

Somewhere in the Internet I read:
"In the warm mud bath (up to 42 ° C) even the fingertips get an intensive blood supply and warmth flows through them. The body floats, muscles and joints relax with almost weightless ease. Meanwhile, the healing ingredients of the mountain pine raised bogs penetrate the skin, have a hormone-regulating and skin-tightening effect."

When we put our bicycle in their shed for the night, first of all I notice an enormous vat, and then other intriquing pieces of equipment. I am told it is all used for preparing the mud baths. This morning I take the opportunity to photograph the scene, or rather behind the scenes of the mud bath which doesn't look quite as enticing as the description of its salubrious effects.

I found the place fascinating and am including several pictures.

The vat is for heating the mud and the tubs are what you sit in for the treatment.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The tubs are on wheels so they are probably taken to a classier place for the treatment.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Various tools used for preparing the mud
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our bikes are parked for the night underneath the chute delivering the raw material.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looks like this must be a messy business!
Heart 0 Comment 0

And now for a smattering of my impressions from the day.

Heart 6 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltOh my goodness! What a great photo!! Makes me want to come and bike there!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
I don't know if this is a vintage tractor or a regular tractor, but I know there are some tractor fans out there so I thought I would post it.
Heart 3 Comment 0
More bucolic scenes
Heart 3 Comment 0
A few brown leaves on the ground, a touch of autumn
Heart 5 Comment 0
The living quarters are in the front part of the building, the barn and stalls in the back.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It looks like the dampness in the walls is creeping up to the fresco (on the building above) depicting St. Christopher, patron saint of travelers and also said to offer protection against lightening, pestilence, flood and epilepsy. The house was built in 1527.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A wayside cross
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stop for a closer look at this picturesque chapel.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltI think it's great that both of you like to take pictures along the way and take your time riding. :) Makes it more enjoyable to ride with someone who enjoys doing the same as you. I think bicycling and photography goes together like peanut butter & jelly! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The chapel isn't open but we can peek in through the window.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Outside the Geschwender Chapel we can read its history. It was built at the end of the 17th century...
Heart 0 Comment 0
This long bridge sways and creeks. I am curious enough about what is below but I am too scared to look down. I just focus straight ahead and pedal.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hay tedder in action
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Happy to say we are going down.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I love these tunnels made just for us cyclists!
Heart 2 Comment 0
We are now out of the hills and have reached the banks of the Lech which we follow to Landsberg, our destination for the day.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Evening stroll in Landsberg
Heart 4 Comment 0
A tower gate in Landsberg
Heart 3 Comment 0
Windows of the restaurant "Fischer Wirt" - but they don't have any fish on the menu. They do have outdoor seating and that is where we eat.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Nancy GrahamStunning. If I could possibly bike around there, and especially with you, I would truly be in heaven. Spectacular photos Suzanne.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bob DistelbergAmazing photos. My favorite, the one with the rowboats on the lake.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kathleen Jones+1 on the photos and ride, Suzanne. Just so lovely.

I used to take a mudbath every now and again in Calistoga, a town north of San Francisco at the top of the Napa Valley, where there are many natural hot springs and even a geyser. You're right, it is a messy business. Amazing how mud can get into all your nooks and crannies. But that and a massage and you're good for days. But I didn't really think about how much prep is required for the mud.

Years ago I took my mother to the mudbaths. It was a new experience for her but she was usually game for anything. We were in adjoining tubs. I asked her how she liked it so far. She said, "I feel like I'm the womb, but - there you are!"
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamThanks, Nancy! Wouldn't it be fun to pedal together!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Bob DistelbergThanks, Bob! There is something so soothing about bodies of blue water.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen JonesLove your story, Kathleen! I had never heard about mud baths in the USA, so I guess they are not quite so unique as I had imagined.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago