Day 1: Gauting to Bad Tölz - Out and About in Bavaria - 2020 - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2020

Day 1: Gauting to Bad Tölz

I'm nervous, we haven't toured in over a year or ridden with panniers. Fine and good that we have been cycling almost daily, but we seldom leave our comfort zone. But now once we are underway, the panniers are no problem. Why all that worry all the time? And the morning fog lifts before long, it is going to be a glorious day.

Most of today's route is a repeat of the beginning of our ride to Innsbruck last year, we are on familiar territory.  The parts we liked then we like now, and the less interesting sections are just as boring this time around. We just forgot when planning the route that the road and bicycle path between Wolfratshausen and Königsdorf was not so attractive. Next time we'll plan it differently.

A word about our planning: We use Komoot, an app similar to ridewithgps, for planning and recording our rides. Janos has finally convinced me that navigating using a cell phone instead of my Garmin has many advantages, so that's what I have mounted on my handlebars. He was right, the display is easier to read and transfering planned routes from the computer and sharing them is so much simpler. I guess some people don't like all this technology while cycling, but I have no objections.  I hate getting lost, it's such a waste of time, and I love planning.

For me cycling and photography belong together. This would be a problem if Janos weren't as enthusiastic about taking pictures as I am. We both like to travel slowly and stop frequently for photo op's. Often in the past I had no idea where I took many shots so I was excited to discover a method for geo-tagging my pictures since my camera doesn't have a gps function.  Just a bit of technical information for anyone interested: Using the exif-data from your camera, Lightroom can geo-tag photos that you upload. Probably there are other methods that I have never heard of. The camera I used on this trip is a Sony Nex-6 with an 18-55 mm lens,  a light and practical set up for traveling. I also took a small tripod (Gorillapod) with me that I used exactly once (for the picture of Janos and me in the introduction).

Now for today's pictures

The fog is lifting as we cycle the path next to the railroad tracks, not far from home and a path often taken.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I think our friends here are waiting to give us a send off, or at least to have their picture taken as I often do.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThose sheep are adorable and soft-looking! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
We pass the sign for the Manthaler Beer Garden, and turn around. It's almost noon and we hate to pass up the opportunity to have a bite here. This is the "stammtisch", a table reserved for a group of regular guests, decorated with Bavarian paraphernalia. We are not entitled to sit there.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Free range chickens like this place, too. They pecked around under the tables and between the guests' feet.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Life is good!
Heart 5 Comment 0
The fire department in Farchach with a wall fresco of the patron saint of firefighters, St. Florian, putting out a fire.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A farmhouse with ornamental painting over the windows - nice to see the tradition being kept alive.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWhat a neat tradition that is - to do ornamental painting over the windows! Makes it much more interesting and colorful!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A close up of the window with its lace curtains inside
Heart 0 Comment 0
Birds are welcome here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A small chapel in Attenhausen
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now in Königsdorf - the cemeteries often have beautifully worked wrought iron crosses on the graves.
Heart 1 Comment 0
St. Laurentius in Königsdorf - "The church is essentially a late Gothic building made of tuff stone. The upper floor of the tower was built by Caspar Feichtmayr around 1685. In 1785 the church was redesigned in baroque style." Wiki
Heart 2 Comment 0
Richly carved entrance to the church
Heart 3 Comment 0
A glimpse of the church's baroque interior
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Königsdorf
Heart 6 Comment 0
Laundry drying, traditional window box brimming over with geranias, a cross and a tv antenna.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A final picture for the day taken in front of our hotel in Bad Tölz
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride isn't long and we are in our hotel in the early afternoon. We have booked all our hotels in advance, something we never did in earlier years. This year it was absolutely essential since so many Germans are no longer vacationing abroad but are spending their holidays within their own borders. What we didn't realize was that it has become necessary to reserve tables in restaurants now, something we have never done before. Social distancing means that seating capacity, even when eating outdoors, is limited.

Before going to bed I re-read my journal from our trip last year. We also stayed in Bad Tölz, but in a different hotel. Much of what I wrote I could have written again today. We even ate in the same restaurant and without knowing it I ordered the same meal as last time. Sort of like "Groundhog Day".

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Gregory GarceauI'm excited to see you and Janos out for a mini-tour. I'm not at all surprised to already be seeing your usual high-quality photos and writing. Best of luck to my favorite citizens of Germany.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonThanks, Greg! So kind of you.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesThere is no doubt that there is beauty to be found in almost every place. But oh my, your (well made) photos show something that is just a step beyond.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThank you so much, Steve! I am glad that you are enjoying my pictures. When are you two going to get to travel again?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesAccording to the believable experts, it will be later in 2021 before a covid vaccine exists and has had a chance to work. Until then we can't see locking ourselves in a cigar tube airplane with 300 strangers. Like the Bartletts, we could just cycle out into Beautiful British Columbia, but you know what, faced with blogs like yours, it just doesn't much appeal. The Bartletts (bless them!) don't help by putting photos like the bakery in Lübeck into their BC journal. (Page 13: Thoughts on How We Travel).
Reply to this comment
3 years ago