T-minus four days: the madness of preparation continues - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

T-minus four days: the madness of preparation continues

With departure looming only four days away, I've found myself increasingly occupied with a myriad of different things: packing necessary gear, shipping unnecessary gear home, finding a way to get from Walla Walla to Astoria (Anyone? Bueller?), . All this while also doing ny best to quench the butterflies that are slowly metamorphosing in me.

Maps maps maps maps maps
Heart 0 Comment 0

At this point, I'll probably be renting a car and driving to Portland on May 29th. I'll be staying with a friend (thanks Ryan!) that evening and then catching a bus the following morning to Astoria. From there, I'll dip my rear wheel in the Pacific (a tradition for cross-country cyclists) and set off. I'll be getting an afternoon start, so it'll be a short day of riding. That being said, I'll be starting two days earlier than I originally planned, so I can take the first few days slightly slower than originally planned, which will be nice!

Nicole and I will meet up around June 4th in Eugene, so the first few days will be a refreshing chance to get away from people for a bit. Although it's also going to be Memorial Day, and the weather is looking excellent, so I'm sure I'll find myself with plenty of company.

The weather is looking good for a May 30th departure. Keep your fingers crossed!
Heart 0 Comment 0

On a different note, I had the pleasure of talking with a guy who did the TransAm two years ago. Heven loved it, but made sure to clarify that the first ~10 days are the toughest. So, knowing that, I wanted to find some wise words to take the edge off of my growing butterflies. Fellow blog-readers, if ever in the first few days I sound like I'm struggling, just know that the wise words of Oscar the Grouch will be on my mind:

Just some parting wisdom for the road, especially when the riding gets tough.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0