T-minus one week: methinks I've packed too much food - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

T-minus one week: methinks I've packed too much food

Drat.

I remember the first time I played the game "The Oregon Trail." I bought 10 tons of bacon, and my livestock died immediately. Apparently my ham-fisted approach to pioneer nutrition was too much for them to carry out west.

Well, to make an apt analogy from this story, I think I've packed too much bacon--but in this case, my bacon is dried beans and noodles. Lord help me.

I never thought that I would be struggling under the weight of dried beans and pasta. It served as a humbling wake-up call.
Heart 0 Comment 0

That being said, I've had the chance to take my bike on a couple of short, fully-loaded trips around the Walla Walla Valley. I'm trying to get the hang of riding such a heavy, unwieldy bike, especially since I've been used to light racing bikes for the past three years.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0