Day 51: Marion to Seebree: "Those long days in Kansas are definitely paying off" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2016

Day 51: Marion to Seebree: "Those long days in Kansas are definitely paying off"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 43.52

Average Speed: 12.6 mph

Maximum Speed: 30.2 mph

I remember reading a book (I think it was Scholastics) about miners when I was in elementary school. One section talked about the terrible working conditions down in the mines. It was immensely hot and humid. On some tragic occasions, when an exhausted miner would take the lift back to the surface, the cool air would be such a shock that they would pass out and fall back, down into the mine shaft.

Why am I telling you this? Well, the sensation I feel walking into an air conditioned building is nearly as jolting (albeit not quite as fatal). Today was slated to have a heat index of 107. It was phenomenally humid. Leaving the confines of the church went against everything that my body wanted. But, the trail calls, and my desire to move ever eastward is powerful enough to overcome any desire for climatic comfort.

The terrain was more of the same rolling farmland that I've become very familiar with. From here to the Appalachians, the hills should be smaller and gentler, before transforming into monstrous climbs. I headed for most of the morning, riding amongst fields of corn, soybeans, and tobacco. The roadside trees helped filter the eastern sunlight, keeping the temperature somewhat more bearable. Thank goodness.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I planned on making today a short day. There was a Baptist Church about 45 miles away that, I was told, was a cyclist paradise, so I made it my goal. Plus, I wanted to spend some time in the comfortable confines of air conditioning to tinker with my bike and panniers, both of which needed some work.

I made it to Seebree by 11:50, a nice change of pace from my later arrivals. I took a shower, tidied up my bike, and washed my filthy panniers. By 2pm, several westbound cyclists had arrived. We made dinner together, played pool, and shared our experiences with one another. I'm going to miss evenings like this.

Carbs: check. Protein: check. Friends: check.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I also had the chance to chat with the pastor of the church, Tony. He told me how seeing all of these cyclists, many of whom live different lifestyles and have different mindsets that challenge his own beliefs, has helped him become a more open-minded and understanding person. I thought that was remarkable to hear, coming from a pastor at a small church in rural Kentucky. I definitely have more I'd like to say about my experience at this church, perhaps in an upcoming reflection.

Around 7pm, a friendly church-goer brought us a pie! There was vacation bible school going on upstairs, so the church was alive with activity.

This church has been hosting cyclists for more than 10 years. They don't ask for anything! In fact, everyone thanked ME for visiting. The hospitality is just unbelievable.
Heart 0 Comment 0
How am I not fat by now.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Part of me misses roughing it like I was in the west. But out here, in this heat, the hospitality and free lodging is a true gift. I've been told by my fellow cyclists that, for the rest of the trail, churches, free hostels, and fire stations are the main form of lodging. Yay for not sweltering in a tent!

Tomorrow I'll make my way to a fire station about 55 miles east of here. Before then, it's time for some time to rest and digest the pit of food sitting in my belly.

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 3,419 miles (5,502 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0