Day 52: Seebree to Fordsville: "Hot chicken poop and a fire station" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2016

Day 52: Seebree to Fordsville: "Hot chicken poop and a fire station"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 54.39

Average Speed: 12.5 mph

Maximum Speed: 31.8 mph

This morning, I peeked my head out of the air conditioned comfort of the church and saw lots of clouds. Glorious, glorious clouds. I never thought I would be so happy to see overcast skies. They kept the temperature lower than forecasted. That being said, the day was slated to have 100% humidity as well. Gotta take what you're given, I guess.

I made some loaded oatmeal (oats, peanut butter, honey, and craisins and/or raisins), ate with my fellow cyclists, and was rolling by 8am.

Those gray skies were much appreciated.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Barn in a field of corn.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rolling farmlands were much more pleasant and easier to appreciate in this weather. That's not to say it wasn't still stuffy. It most definitely was.

There was, however, a new discomfort added to today's ride: massive chicken farms. I passed by many of these operations, all of which reeked beyond belief. You could smell them for miles before riding past them.

Send help.
Heart 0 Comment 0

But, the riding went on. A light rain around noon helped dampen the smell, and by 1:30 I was setting up camp inside the Fordsville volunteer fire department. I'd heard that it was common for cyclists to stay at fire stations, so I'm excited to finally have my chance. I'll be staying in another station tomorrow night. Generally, they appreciate 24 hours of notice.

Probably the most unique place I've stayed (so far).
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 3,473 miles (5,589 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0