DAY 50: Tunnel Hill to Marion (Kentucky): "It was either raining from my skin, or raining from the sky" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2016

DAY 50: Tunnel Hill to Marion (Kentucky): "It was either raining from my skin, or raining from the sky"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 65.39

Average Speed: 12.4 mph

Maximum Speed: 40.2 mph

Mother of all that is holy. Today was hot. The heat index was slated to be between 103-105 degrees. I felt it the instant I stepped outside after saying goodbye to Ann and Alan.

Perhaps all the weight I've been losing is from sweating. It sure wouldn't surprise me.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I sweat my way through more of the same rolling farmland that I've come to know all-too-well.

Corn, soybean, wheat, repeat.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made good progress, and 40 miles into the day I stopped in Elizabethtown for lunch. I weighed myself last night, and I was down to 144 pounds. That means I've lost eight pounds on this trip. So, I loaded up on a BLT, sweet tea, and potato wedges.

I left town under ominous dark clouds that, at first, were blocking the sun and making me very happy. And then the rain hit.

HARD.

Within a minute I was soaked to the bone. I thought to myself that maybe I wouldn't need a shower today. I couldn't see the road well because it was hitting my face so fast. I sauntered off the road and went under the safety of a porch. I knocked on the door, and the friendly gentleman named Ray that chatted with me as the torrent passed. Turns out he is a train conductor for fun! After about 30 minutes of more rain and intermittent thunder, things started to clear up a bit, so I pressed on, keen on making it into Kentucky.

I loved the next 7 miles. The route took me through dense, luscious trees. The sounds were incredible, and the recent rainfall was still trickling through the leaves and steaming from the road.

Somehow I ended up in the rainforest. It was such a cool experience to bike among these giant, dripping trees and to hear the myriad of birds and insects!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made it down to the banks of the Ohio River, where I boarded the barge for the short crossing into Kentucky.

Is this thing seaworthy? Apparently not, since it's on a river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The crossing was short but still really cool.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The winds and clouds really picked up on the crossing, but luckily did not dump rain on my now-dry body.

I've heard a lot about you, Kentucky. But I'm going into you with no expectations. Show me your true spirit!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a quick photo-op with the state sign, I pedaled the last 12 miles to Marion. The rain started to fall, but this time it was light and pleasant.

Entering Amish country.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Marion, I went to the Methodist Church, which has opened its doors to cyclists for 40 years. They have records that go all the way back to 1976, and they took my picture to include in their records for this year. Who knows, maybe in 40 years I'll come back to see it!

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 3,375 miles (5,432 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0