DAY 49: Murphysboro to Tunnel Hill: "It finally happened: I fell off my bike" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2016

DAY 49: Murphysboro to Tunnel Hill: "It finally happened: I fell off my bike"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 51.9

Average Speed: 32.6 mph

Maximum Speed: 11.6 mph

Imagine yourself waking up to the gentle Midwest sunlight filtering through the leaves and into your tent. The bugs chirp quietly in the trees, and you feel at peace with the world.

This is exactly what I didn't find myself waking up to. I was sweaty, and still caked in yesterday's delicious medley of road grime, insects, and sunscreen. The sun, while still low in the sky, immediately began its sizzling, sultry assault on my mosquito-bitten skin. Oh, and I REALLY had to go to the bathroom, but because I was camped out on a lawn, I had no easy access to one. Great.

Of course I say this all in good humor. It's just comical to look back and see how different every day starts out.

I took down camp, downed an apple and a pop tart, and made my way into town. I grabbed a coffee at a convenience store, used the bathroom, and was on-route by 8am. Phew.

Now, you may be asking yourself "what kind of breakfast was that? You're a growing boy! You need to eat more!" Well, both my grumbling stomach and I were thinking the same thing. Luckily, I had just been electronically sent a Starbucks card for graduation, so I went WAY out of my way while in Carbondale to fill up.

Full and felling fine.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After meandering my way back onto the TransAm, the riding was smooth and pleasant. I spent a considerable amount of time amidst dense trees and parallel to several lakes. The clouds in the sky helped keep things somewhat bearable, yet I was still drenched with sweat.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Luckily I had a warmshower lined up in Tunnel Hill. As I made my way along the gravel road to the house, I completely wiped out on a small patch of algae that was growing on a (relatively) dry creek crossing.  Save for a bruised hip, knee, and ego, all was okay, but I'll definitely feel it in the morning.

Once at my warmshower, I was welcomed in by Ann and Alan. They built a beautiful log home from scratch and open it to guests since their kids no longer live with them. They let me swim in their pool and soak in their hot tub, served me dinner, and let me relax. Glorious

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 3,310 miles (5,327 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0