DAY 31: Hot Sulfur Springs to Silverthorne: "A rude awakening and a bumpy ride, all followed by some wonderful company" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2016

DAY 31: Hot Sulfur Springs to Silverthorne: "A rude awakening and a bumpy ride, all followed by some wonderful company"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 56.47

Average Speed: 12.1mph

Maximum Speed: 30.8mph

Flat Count: 1

At approximately 1am and 5am, I was awoken by the most piercing, bone-jarring noises. Well as it turns out, the free camping in Hot Sulfur Springs is conveniently located mere feet from the train tracks. My tent was shaking, and the train horn simply decimated the otherwise silent evening by reverberating throughout the valley. It was a cacophonous torment of industrial misery.

On the bright side of things, I enjoyed a humongous cinnamon roll at the questionably-named Glory Hole Cafe.

It did not live up to its name.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kyle and Salvador, the two guys that I've been with for the past two days.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Completely filled to the brim, I somehow mounted my bike and made my way towards Silverthorne. About 20 miles in, I hit terrible road construction. About 500 yards into the dirt portion of the road, I heard a characteristic "pfffft" sound. This time it was not from my backside, but rather from my deflating front tire. Turns out the road jostled my rim tape around and ca7sed my tube to rub on the rim. I rapidly patched the hole and continued on, and even let a bit of air out of my tires to prevent any future issues.

Construction time.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The construction went on for about 6 miles, and from there it was easy riding up to Silverthorne. My awesome godfather Floyd met me in town and took me to his place in Evergreen for the night. I enjoyed an epsom salt bath, more food than is responsible to consume, and the company of all the Jones. A pretty swell end to the day.

Smooth sailing after some bumpy dirt roads.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bathtub before my filthy body ruined the water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bathtub AFTER my filthy body destroyed the water. Ew.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying a post-dinner chat on the porch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 2,034 miles (3,273 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0