DAY 32: Silverthorne to Hartsel: "Today I was high, wet, and scared" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2016

DAY 32: Silverthorne to Hartsel: "Today I was high, wet, and scared"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 58.3

Average Speed: 11.6 mph

Maximum Speed: 32.4 mph

The emotions I felt today were just so remarkably varied. I hope this post can convey to you why.

After a wonderful night's rest and a beautiful, nutritious breakfast at my godfather's place, I was driven back to Silverthorne to continue my journey. I was so joyful that we were able to meet up, albeit briefly.

Until next time! Perhaps in Mexico?
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 12:45 I started pedaling up towards Breckenridge, and very quickly the rain started to come down. I layered up and pressed on. I took a decent rest stop in Breckenridge to catch my breath and recharge. The altitude was really starting to hit me, and my lips, fingers, and toes were all tingling. And I still has some 1700 feet to go.

I numbly got back on the road and continued my upward trek, passing 10000 and 11000 feet in mostly cloudy skies.

Apparently there are three 14,000 ft peaks in this area. Glad I'm not climbing one of them today!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I finally reached the summit of Hoosier Pass  (11542 feet) just before 5pm. This pass is a particularly big deal because it's the highest pass on the TransAm. I was so darn pleased with myself and truly felt accomplished.

Made it! It's all downhill from here, right?
Heart 1 Comment 0

After many a picture I started down, and the rain rolled in again. I was hauling butt, though, and made it through the next two towns with ease.

The view just after Hoosier Pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just three miles from Hartsel, my destination for the evening, cloud-to-ground lightning started to occur. It was genuinely frightening, so I went to the nearest building. Luckily, several ranch hands invited me in to wait it out, and I got to enjoy their talk of ranch life. Oh, and a cold beer.

The lightning subsided after about an hour, and I finished the last three miles in moderate rain. After chatting for a few minutes with a supported group of cyclists, the cafe owner in Hartsel showed me a place to sleep across the street. And that's how I ended up camped put next to an old dump truck. Unfortunately I don't have a picture because it was very dark and rainy!

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 2,092 miles (3,367 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0