DAY 29: Rawlins to Six Mile Gap Campground: "My skin is as well-done as an overcooked steak" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2016

DAY 29: Rawlins to Six Mile Gap Campground: "My skin is as well-done as an overcooked steak"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 88.68

Average Speed: 12.6mph

Maximum Speed: 38.5mph

Today I officially got started on part 6 of the TransAm, which will take me to the halfway point in Pueblo, Colorado.

It was a lazy morning, and I spent a fair amount of time at Walmart stocking up on higher calorie/fat/protein/salt foods. I've been struggling to eat enough calories, but I think my grocery haul will counter this trend. I now have everything that weight watchers deprives people of, including creamy pastas, mashed potatoes, parmasean cheese, pop tarts. I also got some healthier fats, including olive oil and avocados.

The first ~15 miles today were particularly nasty, since I had to ride on the shoulder of I-80. After this stretch, things improved greatly. Lots of long, gently-rolling hills surrounded by distant mountains.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

One downside to this scenery was the lack of shade, something I've been contending with for the past three days. Despite applying sunscreen three times and taking breaks in the shade throughout the day, I still felt crispy. I'll be between 6000~11500 feet for the next 250 miles, which won't help this matter.

Near the end of the day I began approaching the smoke cloud from the Beaver Creek fire burning just west of the TransAm. It was an epic site, but will make for a smokey ride tomorrow.

The fire as seen just outside of Riverside, Wyoming.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like we might be biking through smoke tomorrow, unless the winds shift.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At least this means that mosquitoes ate burning. That thought makes me very, very happy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I set up camp at Six Mile Gap Campground with Kyle and Salvador, two fellow cyclists that I've been hopscotching for the past few days. It's a really nice campground, but the 2 miles of washboard to get here felt tough on the bike. Here's to a good night's sleep!

Today's ride: 89 miles (143 km)
Total: 1,887 miles (3,037 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0