DAY 28: Jeffrey City to Rawlins: "Just chugging away" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2016

DAY 28: Jeffrey City to Rawlins: "Just chugging away"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 72.44

Average Speed: 12.4mph

Maximum Speed: 26.8mph

The good news: I slept great! The bad news: apparently mosquitoes ate capable of biting through bike shorts, so I've got about 30 bites on my tush.

I took my sweet time packing and eating this morning, and was finally on the road by 11:45.

There's not much to say about today's ride. It was bleak and dreary, save for a few colorful expanses. Mostly just high, open sagebrush desert (which is pretty in its own way).

Just outside of Jeffrey City. Apparently the split rock on one of the mountains was an important navigational marker for native americans and settlers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching the continental divide about 15 miles outside of Rawlins.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The rock was such a pungent red against the blue sky.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at where I had come. Very empty and lonely, in retrospect.
Heart 1 Comment 0

To add to the day, the road quality was terrible. I has three options: one, to ride on the chip sealed shoulder and risk breaking a spoke; two, ride on the rumble strips and be shaken to death; or three, ride in traffic and be mowed down by a maniacal truck driver. Wyoming Department of Transport, get your act together.

I made it to Rawlins by 6pm and got myself some fries and a bike milkshake. I'm still trying to eat enough, and I figure the fat would be good. It tasted great!

I write this from my tent in an RV park, the only type of place to stay in town (and it was $14, which is no fun). Today was a bit of a slog, but I finished part 5 of the TransAm and am feeling healthy, warm, and ready to go!

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 1,798 miles (2,894 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0