In Lourmarin: Rachael’s hike - Three Seasons Around France: Autumn - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2022

In Lourmarin: Rachael’s hike

We were very lucky with weather yesterday and today.  The weather forecast for both layover days in Lourmarin were for heavy rain but we both managed to get out both days.  Yesterday I got an 8 mile hike in and today a 12 mile hike.  Yesterday’s hike that I found on Komoot was fine but not very interesting and the few photos I took were too dark.  This morning when it looked like we would get a break I decided to create my own route that would give me views of the gorge we went through on our way to Lourmarin.  I took several paths and unpaved roads that took me close to the road.  Almost all of them were great with a few exceptions.  This is one of the best hikes I’ve had!

Leaving town
Heart 2 Comment 0

The following photos are exploring different side trails near the Combe de Luberon.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith ClassenLooks gorgeous!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Keith ClassenIt was amazing!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

At 2000 feet and 5.8 miles into the hike, I reached the highest point of the hike.  From here I descended down a winding gravel road for 2.3 miles with views from all directions,  It was incredible!

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Janice BranhamWonderful sweeping views. I can imagine standing there right with you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bruce LellmanRachael, your photos are so beautiful!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Bruce LellmanThanks. That means a lot from such a great photographer! I had a hard time seeing what I was taking a photo but it helps that the scenery is so stunning.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago