Day 62 - Towards Maumere - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2023

Day 62 - Towards Maumere

And so a pinch and a punch once more. It's two months since I jumped on my bike at home on that cold miserable day. Now I am in the tropics and it's hard to believe that cold places exist.

I had a plan today to cycle about 75 km, stay at the Halfway Guesthouse and then do a similar distance to Maumere tomorrow. Even though I had 800 m of climbing to contend with, I saw no reason to rush out. It was about 7.30 when I left and cycled along the lane.

Dewy Onong homestay - perfect after the ferry from Kupang
Heart 4 Comment 0

The lane ran into a market so I turned up a sub-lane onto the main road that I followed all day. The surface was good, traffic light and surprisingly few villages. The road followed the coast for 50 km, with one big climb. I knew, when it cut inland, that there was 18 km of climbing.

Adonara, towering over Larantuka
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking back on Larantuka
Heart 4 Comment 0
He whispered in my ear "thought of a motorcycle?"
Heart 6 Comment 0

But it was marvelous climbing and the diversity of habitats and crops I saw was astounding. Unfortunately, the trail of garbage and the occasional garbage dump took the shine off things.

The only way things will change is when tourists refuse to visit. The Lonely Planets of the World could play a big part.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Idyllic cycling along the coast
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rice
Heart 4 Comment 0
The start of the climb. Fortunately, I'm not going up that volcano
Heart 4 Comment 0
Coffee berries
Heart 4 Comment 0

At one point, the road flattened and I reached a fruit stall. I stopped because I thought I had spotted mangoes from my bike. But, they weren't mangoes and I'm yet to identify them. You peel them to find a dryish, very sticky and very sweet pulp.

The fruit ladies with the fruit in question.
Heart 4 Comment 0

A little later, luck came my way with a crowded restaurant in the village of Pasar Boru. I had a good meal, a couple of cups of tea and the rest I needed before climbing once more. The road twisted often through bamboo thickets.

There are more than 1000 species of bamboo, They are all grasses and many produce cyanide to defend themselves from herbivores.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Finally, I had reached the top and there stood the ruin of Halfway Guesthouse. This left me needing another 40 km to reach Sunset Bungaloes. It was only 2.30 and with a big descent I thought I'd make it even if there was a substantial climb. But, I had important business after 16 km.

5000 km! The budding mathematicians among you will dispute this number. The blog does not include kms ridden on an empty bike in Darwin. I make the rules, and I am counting them. Cycling in Darwin is tough.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Not knowing what lay ahead, I  took a quick photo and kept going. I made good time and even watched a few minutes of a six-a-side football game. 

It's so lush here so why are the fields dirt?
Heart 5 Comment 0

I essily found Sunset Bungalows, a fitting place to end a very nice day. Over dinner, I got chatting to Christian, who has a stake in the place.

Heart 4 Comment 0
That's one way to mark your boundary and increase accommodation!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 115 km (71 miles)
Total: 4,912 km (3,050 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Graham SmithJane and our daughter Emily are in your neck of the woods for the next 8 days. They’ve gone tropical.

They are just up the road … in Sarawak. Well it looks close on the map as the crow flies, but Google estimates they are a 3200km bike ride from where you are. So don’t bother with a side-ride to see them.

Full steam ahead with the island hopping to Singapore!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago