Day 63 - Today I traveled - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2023

Day 63 - Today I traveled

My aim today was to ride 70 km to Paga, find another beach bungalow and set myself up for tomorrow's 1000 m climb to Moni. Thus, it didn't bother me that I pedaled out of Sunset at 9.30. But also, I had no idea what awaited me down the road.

Early morning high tide.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Ian DouglasA nicely framed composition.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasThanks Ian I can still see a photo but don't find them easy on a phone.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

It was an uneventful 30 km ride into Maumere, quiet to start; busy to finish. There were many dressed in their Sunday best carrying tattered bibles. Song came from churches. I watched the vegetables grow as I rode past them and pondered the meaning of m = mc2.

What am I missing?
Heart 4 Comment 2
Ian DouglasIt’s futile to pedal faster because as you approach the speed of light your mass approaches infinity. Or possibly ‘education is a good thing and there should be more of it’.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasYes, but you'd be climbing impressively. Clearly, the mass of the load is irrelevant.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
That's my provider. They improve broadband by growing vines up infrastructure.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I hadn't eaten as much as I needed so ducked into a restaurant to fuel for the climb. Lucky I did because the climb was harder than I envisaged, especially when the rain started. It was mostly drizzle as I rode. Did it make we wetter or cool me? No, to both.  I hid in a filthy bus shelter for a quick break.

Sums it up!
Heart 4 Comment 2
Ian DouglasI see the potential for iconic bus shelter jig saws, coasters and calendars.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasYou're a bit sad!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

The scenery was much like yesterday's. After 60 km for the day I felt hungry. The rain was now harder and, fortunately, I spotted a church where I could hide myself away under cover. The going had been reasonably hard and I needed to relax. I'd already had enough "hello misters" to last a lifetime. Imagine doing this in Australia - top of your voice in a tourist's face.

I didn't realise, at that point, that I was about to descend - steeply. In front of me, a fellow on a scooter clipped a half-grown chicken, wounding it severely. He stopped immediately, did a u-turn and went back to face the music. I continued as paddy appeared.

Heart 4 Comment 0

It was interesting descending on the winding, wet road with no idea of when there'd be a very tight hairpin. There was one at the bottom. Fortunately, I was ready for it. 

What would LJ Hooker do? Inner Canberra waterfront house for sale** Former residents still reside in the front yard. And they will, forever.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I saw no accommodation in Paga and to make it harder the rain became torrential. It's the dry season - 25 mm for the month. My glasses were wet and fogged and I had trouble drying a finger to use my phone. Eventually. I managed to contact Ricky Cowboy's Homestay, 4.5 km away and with 150 m of climbing. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Fortunately,  the rain eased just as the day got long. I jumped on my bike and attacked a short hill of ridiculous gradient: 15-20%  that took me over a headland sporting a big Jesus. How many "hello misters" did I get just on that hill? And the garbage - as bad as it gets. It tested me to the limits. Riding a bike is the easy bit. 

It might be your country but it's our planet.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I found Ricky Cowboy's easily but I had no idea what I had found. It seemed like a couple of bungalows and an open kitchen and bathroom in a bamboo thicket. Why this vagueness? The rain had knocked the power out, but only at Ricky's. He cooked up some noodles, rice, eggs and vegetables that I ate in my bungalow as the rain continued. In this situation, 5-star accommodation.

Perhaps I paid the penalty for breaking my golden rule of getting an early start. But today I traveled.

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 4,992 km (3,100 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Joel KrewazIan, Heroic and very well done. I picture it all with your blog, thank you. Tough but eye opening.
May you have easier days but full of just as rich new experiences.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian DouglasAppreciate your efforts to diarise in trying circumstances, but a few high level geographical pointers would assist the nerds trying to follow on google maps; eg, you went south, not north from the port then crossed to the north side; and today you crossed back to the south side.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasGood point, Ian. I'll try to lift my game.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Joel KrewazThanks Joel. I seem to be copping a few more burning hoops than usual. COVID has hit tourism hard here. I'm just not seeing tourists so there's not the conversation in guesthouses at day's end.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago