Day 64 - Ricky Cowboy's: a photo essay - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2023

Day 64 - Ricky Cowboy's: a photo essay

It rained sporadically throughout the night, often hard. Even Ricky is commenting on it being the dry season. And then, as I was thinking of leaving this morning, it poured again. I suspect that it's much worse at a 1000 m and thus decided to sit back and read for the day. 

Imagine the wet season!
Heart 3 Comment 0

I finished Shirley Shackleton's "A Circle of Silence". I encourage all to read it. Successive Australian Governments supported the Indonesian Government as it wiped out a quarter of Timor Leste's population.

My imagination about what I would wake to at Ricky Cowboy's was close to the mark, with the exception that there's less bamboo than I envisaged. 

Ricky is a very interesting fellow. He builds everything himself and does his best to avoid plastic. He works hard to keep the area clean including the creek below. This morning he had an electrician helping to restore the power. They roared with laughter when I mentioned an Australian expression "white man's magic".

Ricky - dressed for the rain. He likes being photographed in a natural pose.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The sign on the lane; nothing on the main road!
Heart 4 Comment 0
The path: I wondered where I was heading in yesterday's dim light.
Heart 4 Comment 0
As modern as it gets!
Heart 4 Comment 0
My bungalow. There's a double bed with a mosquito net and a little space around it.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Colourful paths wind around the estate.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The open-plan kitchen and dining area - an absolute fizzer last night, literally! Rain fried the electrical connection.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The open-plan bathroom.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The open-plan toilet; no en-suites here.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Exquisite gardens; many will recognize crotons, sold as indoor plants in Australia.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A local primary school.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There's even a nearby restaurant, where I had an excellent lunch. They even have WiFi.
Heart 4 Comment 0

In the afternoon, I walked down the steep track through dense bamboo, cacao, banana and coconut to the beach. 

The spectacular local beach. Fifteen minutes with a bobcat would fix up the shambles behind it.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0