Day 35 The run into Darwin - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2023

Day 35 The run into Darwin

I woke early in my own house on Brad and Shannon's property, had a bite and wandered to their house. Apparently,  Brad had a late one but was still up to wave me off. What a champion!

Brad, Shannon and I at the scene of last night's festivities.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was on my way by 8 hoping to be in Darwin late morning for some media stuff. It didn't happen. 

Acacia Hills, just off the Stuart Highway: perfect cycling.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was soon back on the highway with about 50 km to Darwin. I phoned Cora who was planning to cycle out to meet me. It was hot, the country had flattened and with the slightest of tailwinds I could do between 25 and 30 kmh. In no time I was cycling in the place I dislike most - among the Bunnings, greasy takeaways and tyre places, while sharing the road with aggressive Darwin drivers. If they were tough they'd be cycling.

Australia's wildlife by roadkill: the blue-faced honeyeater, a favourite of mine.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Jackie LaycockSo sad, we see them here at Pindimat and they are lovely
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

The Darwin skyline appeared not so far away.

The skyscrapers of Darwin
Heart 3 Comment 0

Cora had left her run far too late to meet me, so friend Mark drove her out with a bike. By then I had 12 km to Darwin and they were further south looking for me. We united on Tiger Brennan drive. 

Exciting times
Heart 8 Comment 0

Mark went his way while Cora and I cycled to the waterfront.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had done 4259 km. Another 20 km would see me at Mark and Mandy's glamping tent at Tiwi.

It doesn't get better!
Heart 6 Comment 0

The tropics: where plants are always taking over.

Three-week-old zucchini plants
Heart 5 Comment 0

And to those who wonder how I do it:

It's the titanium alloys in the legs! A big thanks to the medical teams who have put me back together. How lucky am I?
Heart 4 Comment 0

We're in Darwin for a week during which I'll get a ticket to Dili and then continue Part 2 of the blog - Darwin to Singapore. Thanks to all who are reading. Comments most welcome. CHEERS IAN

I'll leave you with my favourite bird  - The Vulture. This Australian magpie came to us about 20 years ago with a bald head. Cora photographed her last Friday.

Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 km (50 miles)
Total: 4,278 km (2,657 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Graham SmithCongratulations Ian on arriving in Darwin in such a quick time. Well ridden.

‘Hi’ to Cora.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
John GrantWell done mate.
Great to see Cora with you for a few days.
I've got a lovely day loaf baking at the moment after rescuing over a tonne of food today for those (multitude) less fortunate than us.
Looking forward to you getting into SE Asia.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jackie LaycockGreat effort Ian, so pleased that you and Cora have a few days together in Darwin before beginning the next chapter of your adventure.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago