Day 44 - Onwards to Dili - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

Day 44 - Onwards to Dili

It's getting on for 9am in Darwin and the temperature is 22C and rising quickly. Bananas ripen nearby. I don't believe that anywhere in Australia is under 10C. That's just another conspiracy. You just can't trust the BOM anymore.

I'm about to leave our home in Darwin - Mark and Mandy's glamping tent, on one of those days all cycling tourists love - a ride to the airport, packing up the bike, getting it on a plane, reassembling it in Dili and moving on. Where am I staying tonight? Why deal with that now? I just know that the few hundred km to TL will be a million km in culture.

Darwin's finest accommodation
Heart 5 Comment 0
Mandy and gorgeous dog, Leah, and I. Unfortunately, Cora's now home and Mark is out.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I packed up my bike and took a lousy photo.

All ready for the airport
Heart 4 Comment 0

An hour and ten later I had cycled to the airport and checked in, passing this fine tower on the way.

If you're going to spy on the Chinese then do it in style
Heart 3 Comment 0

I was a little nervous at check in, guessing my bike box was over 30 kg,  but managed to have a good chat with the person helping me.  I did not pay a cent. Being nice to airport workers pays dividends.

Unfold the box and cable tie the bottom edges. Place the box on pre-prepared ropes with a loop tied in one end. Get your bike, panniers and other stuff in the box and tie the ropes. Tape? No!
Heart 4 Comment 2
Graham SmithIan I’m highly impressed with your efficient but relaxed bike packing technique. Should be patented.

I waste several days, kilometres of tape, hectares of cardboard and many litres of padding when I pack a bike for flight.

And I guess a Thorn Nomad is so sturdily built, not even Qantas sub/contractor baggage handlers could damage it.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham
Many people spend a lot of time packing a bike. Not having mudguards helps. Rather than testing whether a dismantled bike fits, measure it, eg with a piece of rope. I use panniers as padding. I removed my forks rather than the front rack. The question to ask is what can get damaged - probably derailleur and front forks. I don't have a derailleur; I have a custom driiled dowel that I fit in place of the front wheel using the quick release. I use a pseudo trucker's hitch on the ropes. These make the ropes very tight. I don't need tape. The cable ties at the bottom are just supporting the box until I get the bike in. Yes, should do a video. If you can't get a box get big bits of cardboard and cable tie them together - much better than tape. The only useful tape is cloth duct tape - motorcyclist's tool kit on a roll. I've fixed shirts with it; OK with a washing machine but hates the hot drier.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

But there is a price for speed.

It does look genuine now. But it's my only indigo t-shirt. Cora nabbed the other one.
Heart 3 Comment 0

So  I got on the plane with torn shorts, covered in grease and none of the US$ I need for the TL visa. The money sharks at Darwin airport closed up shop when COVID arrived. I was trying my best to be put on a return flight from Dili!

In no time, we were flying over Timor Leste. First impressions: high mountains, thick vegetation, cascading rivers - mostly dry now, with settlements on their banks and spiralling dirt roads. Talk about rugged!

Heart 3 Comment 0

In no time we had crossed Timor and were flying along the north coast to Dili.

Now, QANTAS, chip in for the great indigo bike ride. You will get me - torn shorts, grease- covered t-shirt, red tie. We will devastate other airlines!
Heart 3 Comment 0

I sorted out my lack of US$, collected my bike and soon had it assembled as a crowd looked on. 

Heart 4 Comment 0

I then found my way to my unbooked accommodation in Dili - Casa Minha backpackers, recommended by Hugh, the only cyclist I saw en-route to Darwin. Terrific to be back in Asia - scooters, smells, potholes, intermittent electricity, taps that turn on if you turn them off too far. Here's a first few photos.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

 Accommodation is expensive in Dili, considering, the economy - a room in a dorm US$12. A young woman, Eliza, who works here, sorted my phone. I ventured to a hole-in-the-wall for dinner.

I liked the wall in the hole-in-the-wall
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 13 km (8 miles)
Total: 4,291 km (2,665 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Graham SmithGreat that you are back on the bike and journaling Ian. I’ve missed the daily updates.

I’m behind in my donations but will catch up soon now you are moving again.

My plan is to donate every time you finish crossing an island (or any continent shaped like a big island) move on to the next island.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham
So good to hear from you. I'm not really on the go again but think that I will keep the blog ticking over while I'm in Dili. What do you think? I like your donation strategy. I'll find every small island on the way!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Graham SmithTo Ian WallisI’d suggest you keep up the daily posts. It’ll be interesting for us armchair travellers to learn more about Dili and Timor.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jackie LaycockTo Ian WallisThanks Graham, that is awesome and we are very grateful!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jackie LaycockTo Graham SmithWe whole heartedly agree with keeping up the daily posts, we too have missed them!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago