Day 34 - Hayes Creek to Acacia Hills - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023

Day 34 - Hayes Creek to Acacia Hills

Yesterday's effort was gold. If I could do 120 km today then I would get to Acacia Hills.  Remember that phone call I got yesterday from just outside Pine Creek. That was Brad responding to an email I sent to Darwin cyclists. Brad was putting on a BBQ for his cycling friends and was not only inviting me but giving me somewhere to stay. 

I was on the road by 7.30 to beat the heat. The going was easier but the air still.

It was flatter, wider, more exposed
Heart 3 Comment 0

Adelaide River was 60 km away and that gave me something to aim for. 

First for me. I've always wondered why, when Australia went metric in 1974, all of the Four Mile Creeks didn't become Seven Kilometre Creeks.
Heart 3 Comment 2
John GrantThe quip in 74 was "The bloody government ! They've halved the size of my farm and doubled the distance to town !"
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisJohn, brilliant once again!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I was in Adelaide River, Australia's WW2 frontline, soon after 10 and looked at the railway and an old cemetery on my way.

Heart 3 Comment 2
Graham SmithI recall a story from an ex-serviceman, Harry, who I worked with in Tamworth at the ag research station in the early 1970s. Harry was in Darwin during the bombing raids.

He said some local government workers had been told to ‘retreat’ certain vital equipment as far as Adelaide River. One very enthusiastic worker drove a grader as far as Alice Springs… just to be on the safe side.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisGraham
The guy was probably being paid by the mile.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Many of those buried here in the late 1800's are Chinese
Heart 3 Comment 0

Surprisingly, the Adelaide River flows through this little establishment that caters essentially for tourists.

Feel like a swim? You can see jumping crocs eat chickens downstream.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Adelaide River gave me shade, a large plate of wedges and a litre of cold softdrink. It was hot when I got going again. Sixty kms - two lots of 30, would get me to Acacia Hills. Soon after leaving Adelaide River there was a significant roadsign. 

I'm sure it's not just me who thinks.........
Heart 2 Comment 1
John GrantSo you can do your fuel calculations ?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

About halfway there was a rest area with a gorgeous creek where I dipped my clothes. I checked the directions to Brad's and the direction to phone from Colton Road.

I would have been there an hour earlier if not for meeting Hugh, the first tourer I have seen since leaving Cora, Frank and Robin in Cowra. Hugh left Britain in early 2022 and had just flown in from Dili. It was a fortunate meeting for me as I decide what stuff I'll need on the road ahead. Hugh told me that there's a couple on a Thorn tandem not far ahead. That's three Thorns in the space of a few kms.

Hugh from England riding a Thorn Nomad
Heart 3 Comment 0

Not long after meeting Hugh I reached Colton Road from where I phoned Brad. He gave me directions and said that he would come to meet me. I did not catch on to what was about to unfold. A few km later a vehicle slowed and I  met Brad. I followed his vehicle to the turnoff of his road. He told me that he would park at his gate at no 296 ie 2.96 km along the road. Remember that? I arrived a few minutes later to a cheering crowd who Brad had phoned a little earlier telling them to walk to the gate. 

My welcome at Acacia Hills - unbelievable!
Heart 5 Comment 2
Craig BarrettIt was fantastic to meet you Ian.
Love your posts and will keep reading your blog as you travel up to Singapore. What an adventure. Some of us think about but just don't take that extra step to do.
Take care of yourself, rubber side down and keep riding!! Craig (2nd from left).
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Craig BarrettCraig
I find it hard to express how taken aback I was with the Knights' welcome. It seems that everyone is thanking me for dropping in! What, for food, drink, accommodation, first rate company? I cannot have landed in a better place. Brad has my details should any of you be passing Canberra. It would be a pleasure to reciprocate. Ian
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

I think I arrived about 4 and put my head down at 11. In between, I was fed, watered and enjoyed terrific conversation. Brad and Shannon, I cannot thank you enough.

And who were the people gathering here? They were members of the Darwin Knights of Suburbia. "We’re your everyday neighborhood cyclists.  We’re not a club, we’re a community of like minds and willing legs, riding the highs and lows of cycling—and life—together. For Fitness. Friends. Freedom. Fun." I encourage any cyclist who wants a bit of support to look them up. 

Now here's a dilemma. For years I have bagged Tamworth in NSW, Australia's country music capital with the big guitar that toppled when being erected. Brad grew up in Tamworth!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Today's ride: 125 km (78 miles)
Total: 4,197 km (2,606 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Jackie LaycockCongratulations Ian and what a fantastic welcome by the Darwin Knights of Suburbia.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisJackie - simply unbelievable!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Graham SmithGreat place is Tamworth. You’ll be able to ride through there, via Barraba, on your return ride.

Small world. The Golden Guitar is modelled on my school mate’s Dad’s guitar. Gentleman Geoff Brown and his showband toured all over outback

Harry Frost, who designed / built the big guitar, has a son David Frost who lived and worked for years in the NT. Retired to Cairns now.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rob ParnellGreat effort Ian. I've enjoyed the armchair ride. Loved the birds. I did 19ks on the bike yesterday. Recovery day today.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Rob ParnellWell done Rob. Cheers to all who get in the saddle. I'm pleased that you're enjoying it as are Cora and I, Darwin, as we set off to pedal to the Sailing Club. Off to Dili on Tuesday.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago