Day 19 - into and out of Winton - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2023

Day 19 - into and out of Winton

The cold wind blew all night. I had a slow start to the day thanks to celebratory photos and the need to toss all of my gear, bike included, back over a fence.

A red-tie and reverse indigo jacket celebration: 2000 km so far
Heart 3 Comment 0

And for those enrolled in camping-101, here is my site, pile of old sleepers in the background. I burnt only 1.5.

Note the pile of sleepers. The tent is slack because I'm taking it down.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The tailwind pushed me into Winton. I even took out my phone and photographed my ride.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Along the way I found crucial evidence for a question I've long pondered- that nicking cars and trashing them out of town is a modern hobby. This vehicle suggests its been popular for much longer than we thought.

Heart 2 Comment 1
Graham SmithThat looks a bit like a London Cab.
Long way to joy ride before dumping it.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

There are constant reminders around Winton that this is dinosaur country. Some most impressive specimens have been unearthed here.

Australovenator was a 500-1000 kg very fast predator. It makes dogs that chase cyclists seem quite mellow.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Winton's the home of Waltzing Matilda so what better place to eat plates of chips than the centre devoted to it? The verse is even etched into the footpath near a sculpture of Banjo Patterson.

A fine building
Heart 3 Comment 0
Banjo Patterson wrote the lyrics to Waltzing Matilda in 1895
Heart 2 Comment 0

I passed other fine buildings as I rode the main street and out once more onto grasslands. There were even musicians playing in random places for the opera were in town.

Heart 3 Comment 0

Just out of Winton I stopped to watch three brolgas and a little further on saw eight bustards. This photo makes them look like WW1 parachutists.

Spot the bustards part 2
Heart 3 Comment 0

Every so often there was a creek with most pleasant vegetation and near the end of my day, a radical change in landscape.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's dodge the spiders at my camp tonight. Great big ones with webs strung all over the show. 

This one guarded my tent
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 141 km (88 miles)
Total: 2,155 km (1,338 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Jackie LaycockWow, beats the huntsmen we get at hoem that I introduced to my children as Sweeties (cos you cant be scared of something called Sweetie). I'd be callings these Lady Sweeties, Ma'am.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rob ParnellTen out of ten for variety Ian. Very impressive tripod and TWO billies! luxury!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisRob
Thanks for your comment. I like to travel in style!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian DouglasPretty sure the only guys with parachutes in WWI were those in observation balloons. Other aircrew were toast. Douglas
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasIan
Good hearing from you. Back on the bike a bit more? Ian
Reply to this comment
10 months ago