Day 18 - in the zone towards Winton - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2023

Day 18 - in the zone towards Winton

Last night was surprisingly cold for here. Loved it, got in my bag and had a great night's sleep. It was the precursor for a brilliant day.

I chatted to indigenous man, Peter O over breakfast. He's a laugh; friends call him "Piss Off", he says. I phoned the ABC and did a radio interview on the national broadcaster; it might be why so many waved and hooted today. I went round the corner for a coffee and ended up doing a telephone interview with a journalist, Trish B from the local newspaper. She was in Yeppoon!

Posing in the main street of Longreach - Eagle St. Most streets in town are named after birds
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was on my way by 11.30am, in the best of spirits but hoping for a tailwind to help knock over a big part of the 175 km to Winton. It happened: as I left town a coolish wind left town behind me. I soon stopped at the Thomson River. Good friend, Thommo, would love me to put a "P" in it. I refrained and instead admired the water birds.

The Thomson River just west of Longreach
Heart 2 Comment 0

A few km further, the Darr River was also looking good.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Thirty km out, wooded country gave way to Mitchell grass plains. It was a terrific day for wildlife and I pitied those bulleting along cursing the boring landscape. A euro waited the day out in cover of grass. A male red kangaroo mimicked yesterday's horses. I increased my speed to 27 kmh but he bounded along faster and effortlessly. If there were trees there were woodswallows, while black kites were ever present. I saw a square-tailed kite too, exciting for me. 

There were flocks of budgerigars and of silhouetted parrots late in the day. Of course, emus too and a FOUR bustard day.

Heart 3 Comment 0
How do you photograph flying bustards with a phone? So blow this up and play "spot the pair of flying bustards". Major Mitchell would have collected them
Heart 3 Comment 0

I had my big break, just half an hour, after doing 70 km in 3 hours. I was in the zone. Remarkably, some people pulled up with a caravan named "Zone". They got out of their car and went into the van. They too were in the zone. I expected coffee and cake and vibrant chat but it didn't come. It was not a Venn diagram with a common zone. Our circles would never entwine. Perhaps it was my food that put them off.

Look hard and you'll find them. They are quite tasty.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Gerard HoganWhat are they Wal?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisGerard - dried bananas chopped strategically to look like little bush turds. Wal
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I broke my rule of stopping on exactly the '000 mark, as I passed 2000 km for the trip after 111 km today. It was late in the day so I tattooed the air with my fist and kept pedalling. Red tie photos will have to wait until tomorrow.

I have a fabulous camp-site near a pile of old railway sleepers near the tracks. There are no trains on this line now. And old eucalypt sleepers burn so well and so hot. That's what I want on another cool night.

Looking east from my camp-site
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 126 km (78 miles)
Total: 2,014 km (1,251 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Graham SmithA few weeks early for the world famous Winton film festival but you might meet some of the movers & shakers behind this fabulous event.
It’ll be held in June this year.

https://www.visionsplendidfilmfest.com/
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Graham SmithAnd Jane & I currently sitting at Heathrow 3 Gate 40 awaiting our flight to Canberra via Singapore. Normally I’d whinge about such a ‘long’ flight, but compared to how you are travelling to Singapore, our 13 hour sit will be a doddle.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham
I had time to kill once at Heathrow so got on the airport bus and did a tour so I was prepared for when I was in a rush. The bus stopped between terminals because the Concorde was about to take off. It needed a long runway. So I sat looking up at the giant bird-I could even see the passengers- as a bloke on either side of the road manually wound the fence back to create a gap for the Concorde to pass through. I guess that so much money went into the Concorde that nothing was left for a couple of simple motors to open and close the fence. Safe travels. Ian
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithAny roles for cyclists? I am meeting a journalist in town
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jackie LaycockCongratulations on passing your 2000 km, Ian, and thank you for telling the world about indigo and our partners!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago