Day 114 - a few percent out of Sumatra, I hope - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2023

Day 114 - a few percent out of Sumatra, I hope

Indonesia always seems to toss obstacles in your path that other places don't. Today started with a little one: I discovered the bathroom door locked. I entered "my bathroom door is locked" into Google Translator and went to the front desk where they gave me the bathroom key for room 312. I discovered a faulty lock; if I close the door then it will always be locked from the outside. It's sensible to always keep a bathroom door closed in Indonesia! With that solved, I had breakfast. It's cereal and toast, not a patch on yesterday's, but I did enjoy watching a rat hopping around outside. That's worth a nasi goreng.

Another fascinating thing about Indonesia is that you don't see butter knives. I prepared a couple of sandwiches for toasting by spreading jam on bread with a spoon. I placed them in a sandwich toaster, under the watchful eye of a hotel worker. I closed the lid and discovered a broken latch. No worries, an employee holds the lid down until the sandwich is done. That employee told another guest about my ride and that fellow offered me a cigarette. I say "no, no, no" laughing. He flexes an arm and says "strong" and lights a fag in the restaurant. The start of my day seems to offer a snapshot of Indonesia. I hope they fix a few things before they consider space exploration.

With Amrin Amstrong - a perfect name for a smoker who thinks he is strong. He should go into advertising and make a killing for himself and for Indonesia!
Heart 4 Comment 1
John Grant"Strong" what a dreadful way to flog a painful and early death . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I packed my bike and 15 minutes later was on a modern ferry, after pushing up a steep ramp. What's happened? There are lanes on the ferry. I think they even do roll on- roll off with no trucks parked sideways. Motorcycles have designated spots. All of this means that you can load and unload quickly and even have a schedule. 

A modern terminal
Heart 4 Comment 0
A very steep ramp
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 2
Ian DouglasA sophisticated ferry like that warrants a complex booking system.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantTo Ian DouglasYes Ian ! You have to keep the riff raff off.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Lanes - there's a good idea!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking over the stern of the ferry to the chemical metropolis I passed yesterday.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The ferry has art but I can't translate it.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Daisy IrawanSurprise, there is no traffic jam now.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Finally, I remember that ferries are red tie occasions.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It's a couple of hours on this express ferry to Bakauheni on the southern tip of Sumatra. I'll be starting in the heat on Indonesia's largest island.

A small island just off Merak. You can tell from its size that it's not Sumatra.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The air is appalling, a combination of pollution, smokers on this ferry and fires in Kalimantan, is my guess.

Air pollution, like steep hills, is very hard to photograph.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sumatra
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was off the ferry by 1045 and into the heat of Sumatra. It was roll-off and the only thing that stuffed it up were drivers trying to change lanes to get an advantage. Am I surprised? I let the driver of a luxury car know that cyclists have right of way and they move slowly. I rode up the hill, past the big golden thing and stopped at a convenience store for pseudo-orange juice. It's cold and sweet and good for a bit of 6% climbing.

I was sitting outside this store doing a bit of the blog when I was hit with some public embarrassment. Some of you may have read the lovely comment from Jeff, who reads the blog to his children. I wondered who this fellow was without really thinking. There were many clues but I took the easy way and asked. They're people we know well. I have published several scientific papers with Jeff's partner, Kara, and they get honey from me. So, after making a public fool of myself I am now down on the ground, licking toes. Jeff's children like vendor of the day and roadkill, etc so they will get them in spades today.

But, in Indonesia, garbage will trump everything. I hadn't done 5 km before I saw my first patch.

Apologies, Jackie, but I found what I expected.
Heart 4 Comment 6
Graham SmithIan look on the bright side. Unlike Australians, Indonesians don’t smash glass bottles on roads and paths for no reason other than drunken anti social antics.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithYes, that's true. But a lack of glass on Indonesian roads doesnt make a bright side! People use vehicle horns less here than in many other places. That's good butcitcdoesnt make a bright side! There's people in Australia who dump garbage in the bush, steal vehicles and burn them, etc. All of these activities are illegal. These, however, are the exceptions. The simple fact is that we have legislation in Australia to limit these occurrences. We also have strict controls on things like noise, smoking and wearing helmets. I just don't see this in Indonesia. I must have seen 10 people toss garbage out today. I'm sitting among it now. I think it boils down to most people here not getting a decent education. And I think people live in fear. I saw some down and out fellow scavenging this morning. He had a decrepit bike from which a bamboo pole flew Indonesian flags. I thought, what has Indonesia given you?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Graham SmithTo Ian WallisYes the pollution situation in Indonesia is certainly confronting, highly visible and depressing. Especially to a cycle-traveller so dependent on the linear landfill sites; also known as roads.

Not surprisingly, I often saw similar reactions to the highly visible waste from the many ARLF people I took there on many study tours.
Ines arranged access for us to the infamous waste mountain near Jakarta.

Another friend guided us into the Ciliwang River slums. The river bank there is metres thick of sedimentary layers of garbage. The river water surface used to barely visible due to a thick layer of garbage, until activists & ill fated Governor Ahok did make a huge positive difference a few years ago.

Our program participants were usually quick to suggest solutions such as the twin pillars of education and legislation. And also waste reduction, recycling and better collection, disposal etc etc … all things we almost take for granted in most parts of Australia. Good ideas, but how? And who has the influence?

One of the many challenges to reducing waste (or other reforms) are the five layers of government in Indonesia. We struggle with three jurisdictional layers. They have at least five levels, so coordination and lines of responsibility are incredibly complex and confusing.

I remain hopeful that as the educated, middle class grows in political influence, there will be improvements. Not that will help you in the immediate future on your sprint to Singapore.

Anyway, I see you have arrived on yet another island. That means another donation. Happy pedalling. It’s a for a good cause.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham, I agree with all that you say. I think that one of the catches to turning it around is the vast number of poorly educated people who probably live hand to mouth. They think about reproducing and religion. This is a terrific situation for anyone who wants to control the population. People exposed to the dreadful noise - roadside shopkeepers particularly, laugh about it rather than protesting. Conversation stops when one of these vehicles passes.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jackie LaycockI guess when you are living hand to mouth, the complexities of thinking about the environment and the future become too insubstantial. Change has to happen from the bottom up as well as the top down, especially with five layers of government. It can't be imposed externally. I am learning so much for your journey Ian and the comments by Graham and Jeff. Thank you
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Jackie LaycockJackie, I agree entirely. Caring about the environment, strange as it seems, is a domain of the educated. What I see in Indonsia are millions of people with a poor education. I think that everything stems from this.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
I'm going frog or toad
Heart 5 Comment 1
Ian DouglasEither way, something ‘hit the road’.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
This one's easier - southern Sumatran sperm snake
Heart 6 Comment 0
Rat
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantI recently saw a raven drag a dead rat out onto Missenden Rd in between traffic light changes so that the passing traffic would render it easier for it to ingest. It sat on a sign and when it was satisfactorily minced, jumped out between traffic light changes and retrieved it to the gutter to enjoy. A marvellous bit of urban adaptation !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
We all know these but I have forgotten their name.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Daisy IrawanSansivera, or lidah mertua (mother in law's tongue)
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jackie LaycockThanks Daisy, I always knew them as Mother in law's tongue - sharper than a serpent's tooth, although that quote is not quite right. An ungrateful child is sharper than a serpent's tooth, according to the Bible
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I had done about 40 km when I saw a young fellow on a bike. His face lit up as did mine. I asked his mum if I could make a photo.

Bicycle and cyclist of the day, Astar, with his mum, Armel.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was hungry after 40 km but all I saw was Masakan Padang. I pushed, but by 50 km, I conceded defeat. I must say that it wasn’t too bad, but a pile of vegetables and tofu smothered in peanut sauce would be better. Of course, I had tea and coffee and got my vendors of the day photo.

My vendors of the day
Heart 5 Comment 0

From there I pushed on to Bandar Lampung, another 45 km. The going was fine but the road got busy 15 km from town and I can see why. It's a big place.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Along the way, I got my truck of the day but, a little later, could not resist a second.

This got the prize because the load is plastic bottles for recycling.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This tied for the prize because .......
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was in Bandar Lampung that I struck a few problems. The first was heading down a goat track, where some very rich people live, to discover that Hotel Hartono does not exist. I looked up others and, on my way, spotted another - Hotel Marco Polo and got a very good deal. I was keen for some different food and again turned to the web. I was excited to see a Japanese restaurant a km away, with an attractive menu. Now, walking in Indonesia is outright dangerous due to the state of the footpaths and the volume of traffic.

A good looking footpath that I've made look good.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Daisy IrawanWhoever designed it, wasn't a pedestrian. He has no idea about how slippery it is when raining.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian DouglasThere’s a footpath in Denpasar, Bali where they’ve dug a trench between the light poles about the width of those studded tiles they use to aid blind folk, and used said tiles to cover the work…
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

 Even so, I walked, encountered a barrage of "hello misters", typically at high volume and reached a restaurant that had closed down. 

I then went to an empty restaurant, with five staff, that offered Asian porridge and spring rolls, etc. As so often happens, my entry reduced the staff to gigling nutjobs and, of course, they wanted their photos with me. I ate badly microwaved food and put up with more  "hello misters" in my retreat to Hotel Marco Polo. The clincher is: Bandur Lampang is not some isolated village. It has 1.3 million people. I can't wait to be released from the zoo. Today I knocked off 7% of the Sumatran kms.

There's always things along the way that catch the eye for good or for bad.

I don't like the word so please don't order one.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
There's a volcano in the background! This tells us about air quality.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Ian DouglasSo the volcano is belching out smoke?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Extracting dried corn cobs on a hot day. It's a reminder that I'm the luckiest person.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Bags of dry corn cobs
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantHow's that war going over there ? (Rhetorical question only)
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
A random piece of roadside art
Heart 5 Comment 0
I've seen nothing different in Sumatra. They subscribe to the "war on drugs".
Heart 4 Comment 0

Just as the start of my day offered a snapshot of Indonesia, the end did too. 

Here's another piece of art that just happens to be in my hotel room. I'll call it "Indonesia in a bedside table".
Heart 4 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltLike USA in the 60s...
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, yes, like many places. But countries like the USA, Australia, Britain and many more have reformed. Indonesia has not. What's the difference? I have my ideas!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantOn the positive side, the hotel didn't burn down Wal . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Today's ride: 99 km (61 miles)
Total: 8,000 km (4,968 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithHi Ian you pedalled it to BL faster than I had time to suggest El’s Coffee Shop.
El is a pioneer of modern coffee shops in Sumatra. He brought cafe ideas back from Melbourne. He’s even taken staff to Japan for customer service training, and invents his own recipes.
Well worth a visit.
Els Cafe
JI. MS Batubara no. 134A, Bandar Lampung 35121 Indonesia
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff AlexanderThanks for the roadkill pics Ian! The girls are impressed and no need for toe licking at all. We are in awe of your efforts. Jeff, Kara, Isla and Luna.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago