Day 115 - an avalanche of misdirection; 90 km to the good. - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2023

Day 115 - an avalanche of misdirection; 90 km to the good.

I'm the first to admit that Indonesia has worn me out. Yesterday, I passed another tourer, Matthias, with whom I have been communicating. He's the fellow who had eight onlookers as he ate a nasi goreng. He got a glimpse of me in heavy traffic but I missed him. I'm sure that we would have spoken about the negative aspects of cycling here. They really are overwhelming for me. Thus, in Sumatra, I'm taking the easy way - just heading north. 

An amusing thing about Indonesia is that if, as a single person, you pay for a room that's for two, they give you two breakfast tickets. That's terrific for the touring cyclist. The breakfast here is nasi goreng with a couple of eggs, outside on a terrace overlooking the city. Each serving has two stone-cold fried eggs. Why cold, I don't know! Three eggs was enough for me; I gave the other to a heavily pregnant cat. That will surprise people who know me!

The air quality is poor - vehicles and smoke. The one difference I've seen in Sumatra is a lot more trucks belching black. Fortunately, I'll be on relatively flat roads.
Heart 4 Comment 0

This hotel is luxury for me but it still has deficiencies - a ceiling with severe water damage, a sink and tub that don't drain, dripping taps. I know about this stuff; it can be fixed!

Those two breakfasts saved me today. I pulled into a hotel after 7.30, in the dark, chafed backside, but otherwise good. I had half-decided to sleep rough but I was unsure of finding some peace. Thus, as dark was encroaching, I did another 25 km, backtracking to where it all fell apart around 2 pm. And when it all falls apart I don't have many photos.  But I do have some.  I did what I never do - rode at night.

Now, here's something interesting: I'd much rather ride at night here than in Australia.  roads here are a riot of vehicles of differing sizes and shapes, from a fellow pushing his food cart through to the odd semi-trailer. There are many without lights. Thus, drivers are not just looking for a big square box with four wheels; they're looking for the fellow, wearing black, pushing a motorcycle that's run out of fuel. 

So, I got back on track, looked up hotels and found one, very close, that even serves a vegetarian breakfast. I went the short distance and there was no such place. It closed years ago, apparently. So, that's two hotels and a restaurant in the last two days that don't exist. But they do get good reviews. Why didn't I phone? Jump on your bike, pedal here and you will see why. I saw an ATM and decided to tick off that task. While there I enquired about hotels. A couple of young fellows said there was one very close  - Hotel Mandarin.

The first thing I did was have shower. As I did, a fellow banged on the door of the room. I yelled and kept showering. He kept banging, dozens of times. He was dropping off water!

Back to the start of the day. My bike had been moved overnight and I discovered an open quick-release on the rear wheel. Lucky I saw it, I guess.  Rather than use my personal app, I let Komoot pick a way out of  Bandur Lampang, from a point where I was a little unsure. What a mistake! I didn't want laneways with speed bumps, 47 turns and views of local trains, nice as they are.

I turned right at the roundabout before the mosque. It's second nature to me now.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I stopped to admire the roadside art and quite liked the view.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A roadside mosaic
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is one advertisement of many, each made with plastic flowers.
Heart 4 Comment 0
These fellows could play!
Heart 5 Comment 0
There must have been ten ambulances at this roundabout. Advanced planning or profound pessimism? I think this is where I consulted Komoot.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Footpaths are frightening things in Asia. Being slippery is the least of the worry here. It's concerning that you need a ladder to get on them and that they go nowhere. That said, people don't walk, so who cares anyway?
Heart 4 Comment 0
If I'd been where I wanted to be - on top, I would have missed this display.
Heart 4 Comment 0
It was a catfight when the boom opened.
Heart 4 Comment 0

After an hour, I was hot and had 10 km to show for it. You stay much cooler in the tropics by keeping a good speed. Vendors were selling pineapples and I couldn't resist. I chose the right vendor - not only did she want to be photographed but she also directed the proceedings.  I might add that the pineapples are brilliant.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was finally on my way but stopped for some more roadside art.

I long for the time when the ocean looked like this.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I rattled off the kms and had quickly done 50, stopping only to drink and to take a photograph. A big difference in Sumatra is that the road signage is rather poor. I long for a paper map so that I can easily identify the next town. Every so often, I saw Pallembang mentioned, so that made me relax.

Is this that bit of rebellion I've been looking for?
Heart 3 Comment 0
I saw hectares of cassava.
Heart 3 Comment 0
They dry cassava tubers on huge bare areas, often concrete, grind it and then bag it. The smell is unpleasant, sickly sweet.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The field of dreams in front of the first palm oil plantation I've seen in Sumatra.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Horses or elephants, I don't care what drags me to Singapore.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I have no idea what this parade was about but it went awry when I stopped 50 m away. They lost their focus and concentrated on waving. If only I had taken a good look at the intersecting roads.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is the sort of place that we'd stop at in Australia to look at birds. I wouldn't here because I rarely hear birdsong.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was somewhere along this stretch that I saw the most disturbing sight. A fellow with horribly contorted legs was dragging himself along. He had thongs on his hands. Later on, as I was backtracking, everything seemed a bit tough. I'd have to be kidding. The really unfortunate thing is that it looked as though he'd had an accident and never had bones set properly. What could I do but give him money?

On my tour west of where I wanted to be I saw some interesting stuff. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Here are the pipes that make life miserable for me as a touring cyclist. They're not just for motorcycles, I see the small double one (bottom right) fitted to many minibuses. It gives a loud whistle when accelerating.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was on a piece of new road for a time that had a rather large drop at the edge. If you went off you'd want to do it well!

I like to have an Icon water bottle for measuring verge heights.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantMy father's "matchbox gauge" would certainly not suffice Ian.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
All over Indonesia there are voluntary traffic controllers. They wander into the road and stop the traffic so that vehicles can get out of a side road or a parking spot. They rely on tips. I thought that this fellow could direct me when I sensed things were wrong. He told me that I was heading for . Pallembang. I wasn't.
Heart 4 Comment 2
John GrantI hope you didn't tip him Wal !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, no way, but people do - a bit like tips in America.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
I watched this game of 5 a side for a few minutes.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I called on Komoot to redirect me. Of course it could.

This is much worse than it looks.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I was very happy to reach this sealed road, but I soon cut my losses and turned back.
Heart 4 Comment 0

As I returned to the main road, I cycled through a village with interesting houses, often with temples.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was after 8 that I was sitting back with a cup of tea and coffee in Hotel Mandarin, a capacious place with horses at the front, a grand atrium, stunning decore and a handful of guests.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was after 9 that I went in search of food. My eyes lit up when I saw a wok and cooked rice, veg, eggs, tofu. I said "nasi goreng". The woman shook her head. I got a good one down the road.  

I'll enter today's ride in the register of tricky days. That extra 50 km is 3.5% of what I need in Sumatra.

Today's ride: 144 km (89 miles)
Total: 8,144 km (5,057 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0