The What-to-take Quandary - Escaping the Rain--In Spain - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2021

The What-to-take Quandary

We spent what felt like quite a bit of time yesterday packing our bikes.  Luckily, given the inclement weather here in Victoria, we were able to do this in my cousin's garage rather than on the patio at our accommodation.

Next up, deciding what to take in the way of clothing.  We don't have a great track record in this discipline.  There was a memorable car-camping road trip with the kids in 2005 or so, when we packed in a heat wave (or what passes for a heat wave in Vancouver--temperatures over 30°C) and only our youngest brought a light jacket.  Nobody else had even anything with long sleeves and none of us had long pants.  This proved a problem when we ended up visiting the Columbia Icefields.  Oops!

So here we are in Victoria at the end of October.  High today is 12°C and a rainfall warning is in effect.  We've been chilled on almost every ride lately.  I'm going to restrain myself, though, and not pack my merino longjohns.  I will be optimistic and pack some off-the-bike shorts.

I usually do a gear list as part of my journal so stop reading here if you aren't interested.  It's my list and it's a great reference for me for future trips.  I'll edit this once I've actually packed.  Al's packing now and there isn't room for both of us to have stuff spread out.

Jacquie's Bike
Naked Allroad (which I've named Maple)
Tubus Airy rear rack supporting Ortlieb Back-Roller Plus panniers
Ortlieb Ultimate6 handlebar bag with Ortlieb map case
Garmin 810 bike computer loaded with openfietsmap for the area
Portland Design Works 650Beast fenders
Waterbottles and cages (2)
Front and rear lights
Abus Bordo lock

Clothes (packed in MEC packing cubes and sil stuff sacks)
Merino headband (fits under helmet)
Merino cycling cap (fits under helmet)
Cycling cap (fits under helmet)
Specialized Prevail II helmet
Showers Pass rain jacket with detachable hood
Light down jacket
Microfleece jacket
Merino t-shirts (3 short-sleeve, 1 long-sleeve)
Light long-sleeve synthetic jersey
Long-sleeve merino jersey
Midweight cycling gilet
Fingerless bike gloves
Full-finger gloves (supposedly wind/water resistant)
Cycling bib shorts (2)
Cycling tights (to wear over shorts)
Shorts for off-bike (can ride in these)
Pants for off-bike
Wind/water resistant cycling pants (these have performed well in rain and are more comfortable for riding in than rain pants and are reasonably presentable off the bike)
SPD bike shoes
Waterproof shoe covers
Walking shoes
Socks and underwear (3 each)
Swimsuit
Flip-flops

Electronics
iPhone
iPad Mini
Camera, 3 lenses, CPL, SD cards, spare battery, Platypod
Kobo e-reader
Charging cords, plugs and adapters
Headphones
Portable power bank (for charging phone and Garmin)

Tools and spares
For assembling and disassembling my bike (and tightening things that work loose)
For fixing flats (both bikes are tubeless so flats are unlikely but we still need to be prepared)
For oiling the chain and cleaning the bike
Plus FibreFix spokes, chain master link, spare nuts and bolts, etc.

Misc
Michelin map of Andalucía (orange regional 1:400 000)
Prescription eyeglasses
Interchangeable lens riding glasses (with reading panes so I can read the my Garmin and the map!)
Spork (Ti)
Pocket knife
Toiletries
First aid kit
Electrolyte tablets
Pen
Genie hand laundry soap (brought home from France after last trip)
Hand sanitizer and masks (selection of disposable, including some N95s, and cloth)

Traveling
Bike case

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Anne MathersLOL, I had to laugh when you said the list is yours and to stop reading if not interested. I always wish for such a list when we embark on our tours and I haven't got one!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetI used to have a checklist I printed before every family camping trip, with 4 checkboxes for each personal item; everybody was responsible for their own stuff. I think that time during the heat wave was the one time I didn't.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago