This is what I'm talking about! - Adventure Some - CycleBlaze

This is what I'm talking about!

Glamping. I think I'm in love!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ain't that a beautiful sight!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Windsock. ...and i am riding right to left! 😃
Heart 4 Comment 0
Beatutiful coastal farms
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hard working migrant workers picking our strawberries
Heart 2 Comment 0
Moss Landing
Heart 1 Comment 0

This is what I'm talking about!  But I'll get to that...

I would just like to say, for the record, June 28th, 2018--Glampimg rocks!  

One of the reasons I decided to glamp was because I brought my summer sleeping bag and it was really cold last night.  Well, stack a pile of down blankets and make one of them electric, on a real bed, and you have a recipe for one happy night.  And it was WAY better than any hotel.  Quite, in the woods, warm as toast......what more could an out of shape cyclist ask for!?

To add to the bliss, when I woke up this morning the sun was blazing.  Not a cloud in the sky!  Woo hooo!

That said, I was dragging ass this morning.   After coffee, an orange, and crackers and peanut butter I set off to Davenport and a second breakfast.  It was a beautiful morning.

I limped into Davenport and one of the best breakfasts places west of the Pecos, after which my motor started running a bit better.

The ride from there was amazing.  I took it easy and didnt push too hard.

Its here that I should note that so far all of the riders I have met have been northbound.  I asked one why he was not going southbound, which is he logical direction for the Pacific Coast.

"I'm from the east coast," he said.  "I don't understand how the wind can be from the north EVERY day.  Its demoralizing."

I explained that, yep, thats how it goes about 90% of the time on the Pacific Coast, then suggested, "the Salinas train station is about 20 miles from here.  I suggest you take the train up to Seattle and ride south."

Which we discussed at length. I think he may do that.

That said, at that very moment he was enjoying an odd monster tailwind while I was cursing and moaning on the opposite direction.  It woudldnt have been so bad but i was beginning to tire after an already long day.  Plus  It was after Moss Landing where I don't ever remember having anything but a monster tailwind in the past.  Its not fair.  Its just not. 

Until then I felt pretty good.  But when that whole wind thing picked up I was done, cooked, char-broiled.  I ducked into a ma and pa hotel and collapsed.  

Tomorrow Big Sur.  Wooo-hooo!

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 112 miles (180 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0