Rubbing Elbows with Cycling Royalty - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2023

Rubbing Elbows with Cycling Royalty

Lincoln to Llama Ranch

July 9- Lincoln to the Llama Ranch, 27 miles, 3.7 billion feet climbing

Get Your Keaster Cut

Jen and Ellie hugging goodbye
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was time for Jen and Lisa to head back to Oregon, and time for the rest of us to continue. They left around 8, and the Kiwis and I left a short time later. It was so great that they came all the way to catch us on the route and rent the amazing cabin. They got to meet Bill, Ellie and August, and Jen and I were able to talk logistics of me getting back to Oregon. We briefly discussed an option where I would ride back with them from Lincoln, but decided that I'd continue for a few more days at least. 

If you need your keaster cut, I know where to send you
Heart 4 Comment 2
Jen RahnWhat's the difference between "keaster cuts" and "keister cuts"?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnIt depends on whose Keaster is getting cut.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Hey, get a room!
Heart 9 Comment 0

As roads often do, this one started out pleasant, with moderate climbing, shade and packed gravel. And as I often do, I thought, "This route isn't that hard! Look how easy it is!" It was so easy that, despite my incredibly honed sense of direction and my attention to detail*, I missed my turn, continuing up Stemple Pass road for about 2 miles, enjoying the easy life, thinking about how I could probably finish this 27 miles in about 15 minutes. But then I realized that I missed the turn about 2 miles back. Luckily the backtrack was all downhill, and I was still sure this would be the easiest ride ever. 

*Har! 

My miscue
Heart 1 Comment 3
Jen RahnWhoopsidaisies!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnNot only whoopsidaisies, but also Oofty Boofty!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauHahahahahah!!!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Then I got to my turn- Poorman Creek Road.  It was steep and rough like nothing else. It started with a ridiculous incline, about a half mile of 2% to 29% grades on shitty baby head rock, deep water gullies and loose dirt. Obviously, I pushed most of the way, and was feeling sheepish about that until I caught the Kiwis, who also pushed most of it. It was a grueling, terrible slog which took far longer than expected. Eventually we reached the top, which was our first crossing of the Continental Divide. We did a Continental Divide Summit Dance (which will be available in the film version of this blog), and began a brilliant descent on hard pack into a gorgeous valley.

The ridiculosity of this road cannot be captured by photographs.
Heart 8 Comment 0
The LHT had had enough of my nonsense.
Heart 4 Comment 0
It's a road best described as "horrible shittiness from the pit of hell".
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanGood description!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Even August and Ellie had to push. I think Bill was in the trailer yelling, "Come on, let's move! What's the hold up here??!"
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Llama Ranch?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Finally, at the top! And it's the Continental Divide
Heart 6 Comment 0
As Yogi Berra once said, when you come to a fork in the road, take it.
Heart 3 Comment 0

 After reading and watching videos about the Llama Ranch, the first glimpse from a distance as I descended into the valley was amazing. It was like the Griswolds as they drove up to Wally World, only different.  The Kiwis arrived a few minutes before me, and John was talking to them.  He and Barbara Nye are the owners, and he  gave us the rundown. The Kiwis got the larger cabin and I was assigned the Den Schuur cabin. John explained that some of the cabin names are Old Dutch, and if my memory of old Dutch is correct, Den Shuur means "The cattle are dying"**.

The Cattle Are Dying cabin
Heart 5 Comment 0
The view from John and Barbara's porch
Heart 6 Comment 0
When in Montana, you drink Moose Drool
Heart 8 Comment 3
Andrea BrownDamn straight, ya do.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanI even have a Moose Drool pint glass.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanNice!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John giving us the lowdown on the ranch
Heart 6 Comment 0
Bill
Heart 9 Comment 0
The alpacas are shy and don't let anyone get near them. Anyone except Ellie, that is. She's the Alpaca Whisperer.
Heart 7 Comment 0
August and I trying to snap a stealth picture of the cycling celebs behind us. We're so clever.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sitting on the porch, drinking root beer and eating ice cream. Beats working.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Kiwi cabin
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Inside my cabin.
Heart 6 Comment 0

John invited the 4 of us up to the porch of the main house, where we had free sodas and ice cream. John was very hospitable, and I am happy to have finally arrived at this amazing place. 

Later at the ranch, several cyclists, including a very prominent TD winner said that road was brutal so I feel validated. But Llama Ranch was worth it. It's free for traveling cyclists, they refuse any donations, and all they ask is to pay the kindness forward. Amazing. 

A few younger fellers from Missoula rolled in later, as did 2 guys from New Hampshire. They enjoyed a whole lot of the free beer throughout the evening. 

 John told us Lael was doing a private guided tour on a section of the route and the group would be staying there so we were pretty excited to meet them. The clients were a father and son riding expensive e bikes, and a caterer who followed them, towing a tiny house with a Ford F250. Truly a stratosphere of difference in experiences. The clients were very generous, sharing their excellent pasta and chicken with the rest of us dirtbag riders, and giving us a tour of the tiny house. 

My new BFF Lael Wilcox
Heart 11 Comment 6
Andrea BrownOkay, just wow.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonOh, you were serious bout meeting royalty!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Gregory Garceau"Irony--not imitation--is the sincerest form of flattery." Lael gets it.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownI was having celebrity nervousness. But she was great and has a good sense of humor.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonYep! She's a royal as it gets.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauIn all honesty she did laugh pretty hard when I told her that. So she got it. Or she pitied me.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

I had the opportunity to meet and talk with Tour Divide record holder Lael Wilcox and her partner Rue. They were gracious, taking the time to meet everyone and pose for the selfies. What a remarkable pair they are. Lael had just completed, and won for the 2nd time, the Tour Divide about 10 days before, and was out there again. I said, "If I were you I'd get out on my bike a little more if you're going to make this cycling thing a reality." She laughed and laughed at the brilliant irony. 

This is a tiny house the client bought for the trip. Adam, the caterer, towed it from place to place
Heart 4 Comment 2
Andrea BrownThat's insane.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownIt was pretty astounding.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
August, a bike builder and mechanic, was recruited to look at Greg's (the client) e bike to diagnose an issue he was having with the bike. It was immediately clear to me that the problem was a miscued Franastat objector, but I don't think August wanted to hear my opinions. Mechanics are funny that way.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Jen RahnHow tall was the owner of this bike?

I'm guessing at least 9 inches shorter than August?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

The next city is Helena, and my plan is to suspend my ride there. I'll take a zero day at the Llama ranch tomorrow to arrange a car, get a flight or otherwise figure out a way back to Oregon. More on that tomorrow. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

**Check with your local linguist before accepting this interpretation. 

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 555 miles (893 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Andrea BrownWhat a great way to polish off the trip.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanThe moral of this day is; One must go through the 'Horrible shittiness from the pit of Hell' in order to arrive in Eden.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownIt was really an ideal place to end. It's hard to describe how great this place is.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanExactly. Then you've earned it!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jen RahnTo Andrea BrownI can't imagine a better ending to this chapter of Mr. Grumby's Great Divide Adventure!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnYep!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago