Day 138 - through Picton, an interview, lunch in Berrima and a sprint to Goulburn - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2023

Day 138 - through Picton, an interview, lunch in Berrima and a sprint to Goulburn

I decided that if I was to reach Goulburn today - at least 140 km, then I'd need to leave early, and do a BBC interview on the roadside. Gareth looked after me with a big breakfast and then it was time to head off. Megan had already gone so I missed getting a photo of all of us. Hannah took one of Gareth and I.

Gareth and I and the bike of the day.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Bill CrowleI trip we have done a 1000 times in the #CLM174 #YAX874 #YSR454 #YGW109 #Kombisplity #Smoky60Series #AngelaMerc see on https://www.flickr.com/photos/spelio/?details=1
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Bill CrowleTo Bill CrowleYou can Google these hashtags…
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill CrowleBill, just had a quick look; I like it. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Picton is one of Australia's oldest towns. Of course, the area has a much older indigenous history.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill CrowleBeen around that corner a few times.. in #YGW109 and every car since…. #Roundaustraliawithspelio
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
The road back to the Hume Highway
Heart 4 Comment 0
Various rivers - the Nepean and Nattai, have cut through the landscape.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Just 200 km to Canberra, other than my couple of diversions.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill Crowle#Bintheredonethat ….
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
I was happy on the shoulder of the Hume, although it was a bit rough at times. The occasional smashed bottle reminded me that I'm back in Australia.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill CrowleI have never ridden my SuperCourse MkII along that, and never will, I feel for you, very intrepid…
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I was heading for Berrima, halfway to Goulburn, in the hope of catching up with Florence and Pat. If I had checked my phone, I would have seen an invitation! I did a quick 55 km and arrived at 12.30, in another historic town.

Heart 4 Comment 0
This place, on the outskirts of town, is for sale if you're interested.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A new building on Florence's block. There are strict building regulations in Berrima.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Once again, I was looked after in 5-star fashion by friends. Florence made me five sandwiches and then I ate a huge chunk of cheesecake, thus depriving Pat. Of course, there was fruit, biscuits, and cups of tea. I had good intentions to be on my way by 2 pm, but all of that went out the window when Florence's daughters and granddaughter arrived. It was about 3 when we took some photos. What a terrific way to spend a few hours! A big thank you to everyone.

Heart 3 Comment 3
Graham SmithIan you are looking a bit chubby in that pic.:)
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithYes, I got home weighing 63 kg - my body mass when I was 21!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Graham SmithIan what you need are some relaxed, well fed Friday Peloton rides in the near pristine Bush Capital.

Starting with one to a Greek Cafe this Friday. The route includes a Hindu temple to help you scenically reacclimatise.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
With Florence, Myalee, Pat, Merryn and Charlotte
Heart 4 Comment 0
Florence and Pat
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was always going to be chasing the daylight with 75 km to Goulburn. But on a short rise coming out of Berrima I realised that I would give it a run for its money. I was fit but, more importantly, I had Florence's fuel. What's more, I discovered that Berrima is 600 m above sea level, while Picton is just 160. In other words, I was on the tablelands. I flogged it the entire way, stopping only for a few photos just out of Berrima.

I'll be snaffling fruit from some of these roadside trees come summer.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tree of the day - Eucalyptus rossii, scribbly gum. I'll let you find the scribbles.
Heart 3 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltI suspect some beetle larva might make the scribbles.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, a good bet, given that most animals are beetles. But, actually, the caterpillars of moths in the genus Ogmograptis are responsible fot the beautiful art. Ian
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting! Yup, seen a lot of various beetle excavations of all kinds under bark. Given that unfortunately I've never gotten down under this is new info to find a moth doing the work. Thanks!

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/131650-Ogmograptis/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I scraped into Goulburn in the latter part of civil twilight. My first thought was food. I got supplies for the morning and then ventured into an Asian restaurant, where I surprised a waitress with my order. She expected me to have company!

After a good meal I ventured out looking for somewhere to stay and snapped a few photos of Goulburn on a Friday night.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another old distance marker - Yass, 54 miles. The highway used to go through the centre of these towns.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another bicycle of the day
Heart 4 Comment 0

By the time I reached a caravan park, on the south side of town, I had done 148 km - the 59th and last hundred of my ride.

Today's ride: 148 km (92 miles)
Total: 9,878 km (6,134 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0