Day 137 - out of Sydney and over the Razorback - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2023

Day 137 - out of Sydney and over the Razorback

Today's ride was one of reminiscence. I started living in Camden, 60 km from central Sydney in 1980 and regularly drove into town via Camden Valley Way and the old Hume Highway. This is the route I took today.

John leaves for work at 6 so I joined him for an early breakfast. We had had a fine couple of days.

Later, after the mandatory leaving photos - thanks to Brigid, I slipped onto Parramatta Road and after a few km turned left onto the highway. It felt all very strange.

Heart 4 Comment 0

I took a bunch of seemingly boring photos, but I was just doing what I've tried to do throughout - record my journey. Thus, I whipped out my phone at a red light and recorded what I saw.

Parramatta Road: am I allowed in the bus lane?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Parramatta Road: few cycle here.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Traffic light after traffic light
Heart 4 Comment 0
The start of Liverpool Road - the old Hume Highway to Melbourne
Heart 3 Comment 0

The cycling was rather easy other than the constant starting and stopping.

It's hard to believe that this was once a major highway.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There's even old milestones that precede July 1974, when Australia converted to kilometres. Fourteen miles to Liverpool.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
This flourmill is a constant
Heart 5 Comment 0
Good to see some G&G - garbage and graffiti.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
All over Australia you will find reference to our contribution to wars.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was from roughly this point through to the start of Camden Valley Way that I copped a good bit of abuse. How dare I, a cyclist, use their road! At one point I had a driver behind me blasting his horn. The other lanes were devoid of cars! Who are these people who are so angry at the mere sight of a cyclist? I can't recall anything on the road in Indonesia that was simply malicious.

A first signpost to Canberra. I found it exciting.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I felt hollow upon arriving in Liverpool and had my eyes set on finding a cafe. But then I saw a Lebanese restaurant and, at 1030,  changed my mind. I ordered foule and falafel which, of course, came with bread, olives, mild chillies and tahini and yogurt. It was a ridiculous amount of food, but not for a touring cyclist. 

Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantThat's a morning tea of champions Wal !
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I had a terrific break and enjoyed watching the comings and goings at this busy establishment. I went to pay and the fellow said $9. I told him that was ridiculous and that I would pay more. I didn't have any cash and when I got out a card he said "pay next time and take a drink". He was my vendor of the day, but didn't want to be photographed. 

Heart 4 Comment 0

I rode away trying to reconcile this fellow's generosity with the lack of empathy from a good many drivers. 

The few kms to the Camden Valley Way appeared as I remember them. But the remaining kms to Camden were unrecognizable. Gone were the greenhouses, dairy farms and the roadside stalls, from which you could buy anything from a tray of tomatoes to a turkey. It was now wall to wall housing, most with dark roofs, that I forgot to photograph.

This two-lined dragon greeted me on Camden's outskirts.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSo many herps fall victim to roads.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
The view from Cowpasture Bridge over the Nepean River at Camden. The cattle (5 cows and 2 bulls) from the first fleet (1788) escaped and were found here in 1795. By 1801, the herd numbered 500.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
St John's at the top of John Street, Camden where I once lived.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Every town
Heart 3 Comment 0
I stopped in a park to chat to the BBC.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I left the park and headed down the old Hume Highway towards Picton. There's a hill on the way, called the Razorback, that I had often driven over but had never cycled. I had no idea what it was like, but after Indonesia's mountains, it was nothing.

The Razorback
Heart 3 Comment 0
The bicycle of the day at the top of the Razorback.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Up until the early 1980's, trucks loaded with coal thundered along this road 24 hours a day. It would have been a nightmare living at Greengate Cottage.

Greengate Cottage
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was treated like a king. We sat around a table enjoying an excellent meal and a glass of wine. There's no better way to wind down a long ride. Thank you, Megan, Gareth and Hannah. 

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 9,730 km (6,042 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0