Woodland - Duchesne, UT - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2022

Woodland - Duchesne, UT

Heart 0 Comment 0

Oren and I agreed on a 7 AM depart, the better to get the climb out of the way before the day heats up. We had 64 miles AND climbing. I generally prefer one or the other. Oren estimated arriving at the top at 10 AM. I thought that was optimistic, but I was there at 10:10. He was long gone.

I enjoy riding in the early mornings. The air is fresh and cool, we beat the cars out. A cyclist once told me that any miles before 8 AM are 'free' miles. He usually rode later in the day.

We were roughly together until mile 10. We had a couple of dogs come out barking, unusual on this trip. We both yelled, and it wasn't too serious. Make note of the dogs. When the climbing got tougher, I lost Oren. Because of the long mile day, I decided to be conservative. I stopped at mile 11.1, 12.2, 13.3, and 14.4. By mile 15.5 I was at the top. On one of my stops, a couple cycled past. They were going slowly enough to ask several typical questions before getting out of talking range. At another stop, another cyclist passed. I also saw a couple of riders riding downhill. Obviously, this is a popular day ride. For good reason. the road conditions were smooth, there was very little traffic. The climb was tough, but not unbearably so. Of course, I'm saying this after seven weeks of Ride the Rockies riding (thank you Marilyn for the comparison - I think you are correct - except our daily mileage is a little low for them - the climbing is right in there though).

The last man I saw riding to the top was taking a break at the sign. We chatted a bit. He was from Wyoming, visiting the area for a week to do some riding. He had also started in Woodland, was going over the top to Hana, and then back. That would be a 66 mile ride, and a whole lot of climbing. Over 6,000 feet, I'm sure. That would be out of my fun zone. I like the occasional challenging day, but not so difficult that I can't walk to dinner at night! Today fit the bill just fine. I'd say the climb was a 7 out of 10 for difficulty. I had to ask Jacinto's opinion. He first said it was an 8. Then he compared it to some other climbs we've had, and downgraded his rating to a 7. He gave Cottonwood a 10. Slumgullion got a 9, our direction, but coming out of Lake City is a 10+. 

I had been making the conservative stops, and also eating Perpetum tablets. At mile 14.4 I ate a Gu packet. I only have a few of those and don't like them much, because of the texture. However, after I ate that one, I could suddenly switch to the middle chain ring. Was it that effective, or did the road get easier? I asked Jacinto - he said the climb eased off right at the top. 

As always, I was happy to arrive. The Wyoming man in the blue and white jersey was there. I ate a banana while we chatted. I felt as if my day were done, but I still had 48 miles to ride! ridewithgps said it was all downhill, and even gave me an average of 15 mph on this section. I hoped that was correct.

There weren't any cattle guards on the climb, but there were several on the down hill. The trees were close in to the road, there wasn't much of a view through the long valley, but I was still happy. It seems as if there was far more beetle kill than last time we were through. I'd guess that at least 50% of the pine trees are dead.

I did not stop at Hanna for a cold drink. I saw the Wyoming cyclist's bike there. I kept rolling. There's a cafe at Tabiona. I did not stop there either. Look at me go! It was 56 degrees when we left in the morning, and was even cooler at the top. As I rode down through the valley, I could feel the temperature rise. I climb much better in cool weather. I also don't drink as much water. I drank little more than two bottles today, although I carried four. I ate a banana and two bars. It was a low effort day, considering how much climbing and mileage there was. Several times I was thankful for the extended downhill and the light tailwind. The day could have played out much differently with a headwind, or a rain storm.

Our route took us right on River Road at mile 56.6. Oren was quick to note that going this way eliminated a nasty little climb into town. He changed his route to match ours.

As I rolled into town, I saw Oren sitting on his bike at the convenience store. He said there were not seats inside or outside, but his bike has a comfy seat! I found a V-8 inside. We agreed that the day had played out well. 

Duchesne does not look prosperous. It reminds me of the towns we saw in southern Colorado. Only the occasional storefront is occupied. Our lodging is right next to the convenience store and has been recently remodeled, according to the sign. It is a good deal. 

We are going across the street to the Cowan Cafe for dinner. Ratings are good. I'm hopeful.

My legs feel just fine. Seven weeks of steady riding is good for something! We have one more night in Utah, then we are back in Colorado. 

I almost forgot to tell you Jacinto's dog story. Just outside of Hanna, three dogs came out  from a house. A big husky, another large dog, and a little dog. Jacinto was going about 20 mph, started slowing down, then the dogs got too close, and Jacinto is not sure exactly what happened, except he ended up crashing! He couldn't remember if he was clipped in or not, but he jumped up in a hurry, got the bike between him and the dogs, and was yelling every expletive he could think of. In the meanwhile, a late 60ish woman slowly came out of the house, and across the street. Jacinto was yelling and the dogs, and throwing rocks. He said now he was a little embarrassed at his language, but at the time, he was running on adrenaline. The woman didn't say she was sorry, or ask if he was ok. She kept trying to call the dogs back, but they didn't listen for a bit. A few rocks later, and they did listen. Jacinto said he had a great day, except for that. His panniers on that side are a little scuffed, he had to bend the brake lever back. His calf is a little scratched. Probably the full panniers took most of the crash. That's his story. I'm glad it didn't end out like the time he hit the cat named Chevy.

Jacinto is still carrying that quart glass jar of honey that he purchased on week two. It's a good thing it didn't break when he crashed during the dog chase. Imagine what a mess his pannier would be!

My first sheepherder camp sighting. There is a second trailer, with a horse tied up on each side.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is a similar set up. The horses are eating out of the side of the trailer.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back down a steep section of the climb. It doesn’t look as steep as it was. Kind of like a tailwind never feels as strong as a headwind!
Heart 1 Comment 0
That is a motor home, way up there. I don’t know how it got up to the top, but I bet the views are outstanding.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I felt pretty good at the top. I had paced myself well.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonYou deserve the queen of the Mountain medal after all our the climbs you’ve done.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Another cyclist took my photo. The wild flowers didn’t show up well, but there was a big display.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltPink ones look like sticky geranium.

http://www.swcoloradowildflowers.com/Pink%20Enlarged%20Photo%20Pages/geranium.htm#viscosissimum
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill Shaneyfeltthis is the first day in awhile that we've seen flowers. I saw a very few individual stalks of indian paintbrush. Those are something I look for in the mountains, but haven't seen this trip. We are heading lower, so I don't think I will see more flowers.

I have seen some marshy areas, but no more wild iris. IDK if that's a Colorado thing, or their season has peaked? Bonny, up in Minnesota also saw wild iris in the marshy areas there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This ranch gate didn’t show up well. Sheep are in the background.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Is this a small section of tafoni rock?
Heart 2 Comment 0
We stayed in a room above this bar on our last trip through. It was a memorable experience for all of the wrong reasons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The geology here looks like layered cake and frosting. It went on for miles.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I’m not usually smiling sincerely at mile 60. Today, it was a real smile.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 1,712 miles (2,755 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Benjamin MeyersonHi Kelly:

Saw your comment on the beetle killed trees - "I'd guess that at least 50% of the pine trees are dead." I believe you also mentioned something similar on the Colorado part of this tour.

Just for your knowledge, and to set the record straight, in both locations those are actually Engelman Spruce trees killed by Spruce Beetle (Dendroctonus Rufipennis) not Lodgepole or other Pine species killed by Pine beetle (Dendroctonus Ponderosae.) The little buggers are what they call "host specific" ie a spruce beetle won't attack a pine and a pine beetle won't attack a spruce.

The westwide Mountain Pine Beetle epidemic was in the first decade of this century, lately it's been the spruce that's been getting whacked, especially in Utah and Colorado.

Hope you've enjoyed our Utah riding if not the
dogs!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierWhen I grow up, I want to be as tough as Jacinto.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago