Heber City - Woodland, UT - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2022

Heber City - Woodland, UT

Heart 0 Comment 0

Looking at today’s miles, you would wonder what the heck. But, we had 1,700 feet of climbing today. Had that been combined with tomorrow’s 3,200 climb, I would have been awake all night worrying about having enough go for the day. Instead, I had a good night’s sleep, enjoyed a late, tasty breakfast at the Heber Senator B&B (highly recommended), and I didn’t stress about the day. 

We had a few miles on busy 189, before turning off on 32. Miles 4-8 were a stiff climb, but, no worries on this short day!

Traffic continued to be busy, but there was a good shoulder. Oren quickly out paced me and was gone. He missed the turn onto Lower River Road, but it didn’t matter, as the two roads came back together. He did get one bonus climb I didn’t, but, no worries on a short day!


I rode past a ROAD CLOSED sign. That’s always a gamble, if bicycles can really get past. This time, it appeared to me the closed road was actually a side road. I waved hello, the construction workers waved, and off I went. 

I called Jacinto to let him know about the signage. He later said that there was a flag woman, who told him to turn around because they were digging a hole in that main road. A Mexican worker motioned to him to go ahead. Jacinto was happy to not have to backtrack up the steep hill. Plus, it was looking like rain with some thunder. Sure enough, we had about ten minutes of strong rain. Just enough to move the bikes from the back yard to the front porch. 

We have our dinner all sliced and diced. It’s a variation on the zucchini mix that has been popular. 

We are at the Woodland Farmhousr B&B. It is lovely. Sherry has made our breakfasts already. Oren and I are going to heat them up and leave early, the better to climb in cool weather. I hope he thinks the view is worth the effort of getting there. I loved it when we rode the opposite direction in 2020.

The roof on this house caught my eye. The boards are bent, but not broken.
Heart 3 Comment 0
What do you suppose this is venting?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Jordanelle reservoir.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The sluice way for the reservoir.
Heart 2 Comment 0
These alpacas did not appreciate my stopping to photograph them.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I like the gingerbread on this house.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My Grandpa would have named these horses Darkie and Blondie. He was fond of reusing names. Cows were always Bossy. Dogs were Shep.
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were several barns today with the little addition. A tack room?
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’ve been running short on barn photos.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our bathroom at the Woodland Farmhouse has a bucket shower!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I have a barn cat for a friend. I think she would like an upgrade to inside cat. I am completely covered in cat hair and that is just fine!
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 1,648 miles (2,652 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0