Duchesne - Vernal, UT - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2022

Duchesne - Vernal, UT

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a get 'er done sort of day. Yesterday was so spectacular, any ride would pale in comparison. Today certainly did.

I wanted to get started early, so I didn't overheat. I was out the door right at 7. I locked the door behind me, then realized I'd forgotten my helmet inside. Jacinto said he thought I was going to break the window, pounding on it. So much for him sleeping in!

We are in oilfield country now. Double and triple tanker trucks were the most common vehicle. Thankfully, we had a good road shoulder all day. There was a period of one way road due to construction. That clumped up the traffic and gave us some quiet time. Oren caught me at the construction. I thought I would keep up with him, but he was quickly gone. I did not have a chance to tell him of my plans to stop at Beto's Mexican food for lunch.

We had a long, gentle uphill to town. I started to get hot here. I was VERY happy to top off, and see Vernal below. Starting early was a good choice for me. I need to do that again tomorrow.

I looked for Oren at different possible points in town. He soon sent me a text. He was at the Maverick store next to the motel. I stopped at Beto's. They gave huge portions for the price. It's too bad they are a mile from the motel. I'd eat dinner there also.

I coasted on downhill to the motel. I had spoken with Roger last night about getting in the room early. No problem, he would take care of me. Except, then we had a small problem. He thought Oren and I were sharing a room, as opposed to traveling together. He had given Oren my room, and needed to have another room cleaned. I teased Oren about this, but he seemed rather offended, and was quite sure that he didn't get my room, because the bed was too small. Indeed, I had requested a king size bed. It was all sorted out. I had to wait about 15 minutes, but got a room on the 1st floor, rather than the 3rd floor. 

We are eating dinner at the attached steakhouse. The menu looks good. There is a Cold Stone Creamery two door down. That's what our evening looks like!

The Sinclair dinosaurs are getting more and more common. This one was in Myton.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Town has now surrounded the drive in movie in Roosevelt. They are still open. There’s also two old downtown theatres.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder if the local drivers’ ed program teaches the kids to park backing in. Any number of businesses we passed had every vehicle parked in this manner.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like the detail on this gate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Sinclair dinosaur is on a Ute reservation. Thus, the extra paint?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the best riding of the day, through the construction zone, with traffic coned to the far side of the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was our scenery for most of the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the end of the day, we got some red rock and cedar trees.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was so happy to see the oasis of Vernal that I couldn’t focus. I WAS too excited!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our $83. Room has a sofa, and breakfast. Motel prices are all over the place. This was cheaper than most.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,768 miles (2,845 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0