Confluence to West Newton - Two Wheels, One Heart - CycleBlaze

October 16, 2023

Confluence to West Newton

Ohiopyle and a downhill ride into Connellsville

Great Allegheny Passage in Ohiopyle State Park
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was difficult to pry myself out of the comfortable bed at Parker House. Breakfast at Mitch’s Food and Fuel was calling giving motivation to hit the road. Mitch’s reminds me of the Pump Boys and Dinettes play where a small-town diner shares the space with a gas station. The food is good and cheap with a taste of small-town Pennsylvania.

Dollar General has been our friend on this tour. The chain's marketing strategy is to plant stores in underserved rural towns like Confluence. Temperatures were in the low 40s. I needed a knit skull cap and winter gloves. It was $5, well spent. I cycled through the streets lined with trees festooned in vibrant yellows, oranges, and reds.

Ohiopyle low bridge over the Youghiogheny
Heart 1 Comment 0

I turned west onto the Great Allegheny Passage with a fine mist and crisp autumn air. The trail through Ohiopyle is one of the most beautiful rides on the GAP; lower to the river hugging the mountains covered in mountain laurel. I stopped in Ohioplye for a break and obligatory photos of the bridges and falls.

I recommend a visit to the Falls if you have time. I continued across the low-level bridge onto the Ferncliff Peninsula. The high bridge on the west end of the peninsula was the perfect vantage point for the Youghiogheny River and the mountains surrounding the valley in full fall color.

View from the Bruner Run overlook
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was mostly downhill through a lush forest for the next seventeen miles to Connellsville. The Bruner Run overlook, about 9 miles out of Ohiopyle, is a favorite photo op of mine. My cycling friend Allen again had bike issues. He limped along knowing the bike shop in Connellsville could help him. Arriving in Connellsville, we found the bike shop was closed on Mondays.

It was time for lunch. The Kickstand Kitchen was only a block off the trail with good eats. Over lunch, it became clear that he would have to shuttle to West Newton, our destination for the day, where the bike shop was open. Bills’ Car and Shuttle Service came to our aid. The driver was close to Connellsville and would arrive in 20 minutes.

I opted to join Allen in the shuttle. I have never shuttled on a tour. This made the second shuttle I availed myself of on this tour. I have done this tour five times prior. Temperatures were in the low 50s and the misting rain persisted. I reminded myself that I tour the enjoyment. A few extra hours in West Newton would give me time to relax and journal.

Gary’s Chuck Wagon in West Newton
Heart 0 Comment 0

The shuttle dropped Allen off at the bike shop and dropped me off at Plumer House, my Airbnb for the night. I highly recommend Plumer House. It is a historic two-hundred-year-old fully restored home on the river with many amenities. It is walkable to restaurants and close to the trail.

The group relaxed for a few hours and headed to Gary’s Chuckwagon for dinner. It is a quintessential taste of small-town America. The portions are generous, and the prices are good. Gary is an excellent baker with his bakery sharing the space. We bought pastries for breakfast and headed back to the B&B for good conversation and laughs on our final night on the trail.

Today’s route

  • Heart 0 Comment 0

    Our journey is ending on the trail.
    Tom on the Trail

    Plumer House in West Newton
    Heart 0 Comment 0

    Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
    Total: 73 miles (117 km)

    Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
    Comment on this entry Comment 0