10 tour reflections - Two Wheels, One Heart - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2023

10 tour reflections

Takeaways from my recent tour on a bike

The start of my journey on the Capital Limited to Washington D.C.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I wrap up my tour journal reflecting on my days on the bike. It is often through a series of “bests” I experienced. This tour was very reflective for me. I decided to share ten things that were affirmed and learned as I journeyed from Washington D.C. to Pittsburgh. Enjoy!

There is something new about returning to the familiar.

Life is short. I choose my tour destinations from a bucket list of places I want to explore in my life. Returning to the C&O and GAP is at odds with that philosophy. I returned because it was my first long-distance tour. I found over my six end-to-end tours that each has given me a new perspective, unique experiences, a variety of challenges, and another reason to return.  

The worst of times are the most remembered.

I learned this lesson early on my tours. The challenges of overcoming adverse weather, poor road and trail conditions, bike mechanical issues, unrelenting hills, and unknown obstacles are often shared over a beer and linger longer in my memory. 

Having a little fun with Beetlejuice in Georgetown
Heart 0 Comment 0

Never underestimate the importance of being prepared.

I have become comfortable with these trails through my past experiences. I am organized, living by checklists, ensuring my bike, and touring accessories are in good working order. The problems a touring companion experienced reassured me that my caution and preparedness are needed on even the most familiar of destinations.

See the wonder through the eyes of others.

I was fortunate to have three touring companions who had never experienced the C&O and limited exposure to the GAP. They discovered new places and experiences every day. This is what touring by bike is about. Discovering the undiscovered and savoring the moment makes touring something special.   

Remember, it’s about having fun.

I spent my work life living by schedules and timelines. I approach bicycle touring with just enough scheduling. I know where I start and end the day. I let the in-between be on a flexible schedule and unfold organically. My philosophy is that I have all day to get where I am going. A relaxed schedule is enjoying the unexpected and having fun along the way.

One of the many spectacular views on the Great Allegheny Passage
Heart 0 Comment 0

The route may not be what you planned. Accept that fact.

I map my route in Ride with GPS. It guides me on my Garmin. A touring companion had mechanical problems during the tour. This had me shuttling with him for his repair. I have always approached this tour intending to cycle all 334 miles. That did not happen this time. I am OK with that. I was a team player and remembered the week was about having fun and supporting my team. Have a goal but don’t let it dampen your joy.    

A team is more than a group of people.

Choosing touring companions is one of the most important tasks when assembling a group tour. I learned that the hard way over the past 12 years. Cycling ability is a crucial factor. The key factor is the cyclist’s desire to help and support fellow tourists. This was the attitude of my three companions on this tour. Caring for the needs of others makes a tour a success.

People, places, and experiences over miles and speed.

I share this philosophy often. If you are a Strava cyclist most concerned about your speed and miles cycled, you are on a bike ride, not a bike tour. What occurs between the start and end of the day are the things that make a tour come to life. 

The end of this tour and dreaming of the next
Heart 0 Comment 0

Life is a gift. Live it fully.

I kicked off this journal reminiscing about my heart attack and triple coronary bypass in 2005. Eighteen years later, I am living on bonus time. I changed my life and perspective on what living means to me over the years. I have many cardiac risk factors in my life including a strong family history of death by heart disease. I try to make every day of my life better than the day before. This tour did indeed do just that.  

Accept getting older but don’t let it define you.

There are countless experts and theories on how to slow down and counter aging. Retailers offer magic bullets to do just that. I accept that I am aging, and my abilities are diminishing. I know that I can slow that by remaining active and living healthier. Touring on my bike is the serum that keeps me going. Approaching 70 does not define me. It challenges me to keep defying the odds in any way I can.

Get out and discover the world on your bike!
Tom on the Trails

Enjoy life and enjoy the ride!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0