Windhoek to Otjiwarongo (via car) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2022

Windhoek to Otjiwarongo (via car)

There's movement

Well wouldn’t you know it.  Right when I returned from Swakopmund, I felt like I was coming down with a cold.  And yes, also coinciding with when my wheel arrived from the USA.  I had a Covid rapid test, negative.  Just a cold, but I was way more fatigued than normal.  It got worse.  I got pink eye and ear problems.  Went to the dr.  Said said probably had Covid, and gave me meds.  My departure is delayed which is beyond frustrating.  Then things got worse.  The next night, I have the worst vomiting and diarrhea I have ever had.  All. Night. Long.  It stops by morning, but later in the afternoon I start feeling really horrible again.  People said I needed to get tested for Malaria as zi had gone to Etosha National Park.   I end up going to the ER at a private hospital.  Dr. Was sure it was Covid, so ordered a PCR test.  I did get IV fluids because really dehydrated at this point.  Let’s just say, worst care I have ever received because I could tell she wrote me off assuming it was Covid.  (I’m vaccinated, boosted and this is way sicker then when I actually did have Covid). Sent me home still sick with a bunch of meds.  Guess what? Next day results are back. Not Covid.  Not Malaria.  Apparently a nasty viral infection going around.  Takes days before I start to feel better.  

No way I can hop on my bike from here as the mileage is too far the first three days.  I’ve been off my bike seven weeks!  Post in a forum to see if anyone is headed north and can give me a lift.  Turns out, the guy I spoke to before who could have brought me the part from the USA, is headed north tomorrow.  Just like that, I have a ride to Otjiwarongo, 150 miles north of Windhoek.  It will make my first days on the bike more bearable with shorter distances.   I be will spend a night or two there while I am still recovering.  

I spent two nights at a hotel and rode my bike to a crocodile farm.  I had heard the garden/cafe area was nice and the tour was interesting.  I confirmed both of those things are true.  Fun way to spend a couple of hours.  

They heard I like baby zebras. Welcome back to being on the road!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The creatures are back! On a chair outside my room.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bright flowers also make me happy
Heart 0 Comment 0
My friend Cinda drew me a zebra. One talented lady!!! Thanks!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crocodile farm.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingThat's a lot of handbags!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Mike AylingHa ha!! Apparently, the farm is much bigger than the little part I got to see! I did touch the baby gators belly, so soft!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
There were about four breeding males to about 40 females. Lucky guys!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A one year old Nile crocodile. Those are some pointy teeth.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Please don’t squirm little baby!! Don’t worry, I initially had a death grip on him until the owner said to only use two fingers
Heart 0 Comment 2
Zonia HoesesHey Kim👋🏼
Met on you on the way to Windhoek, Namibia...I was with my family and we had lunch under a tree. We prayed and all. Hope you remember. ❤ You're amazing btw xxx still waiting on those pics to be posted 😉😉❤
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Zonia HoesesHi, thanks for writing …. And lunch! I’m always behind on my blog, ha ha, I but just got that day and pics updated. It’s the day of the ride to Otavi. Thanks again for your kindness

-Kim
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Glory was concerned about falling backwards!! Can’t say that I blame him! 🐊
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy needs to go on a diet….
Heart 0 Comment 0
But his friends have lots of teeth so I’m not going to say a thing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Koi pond
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 2,507 miles (4,035 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0