Otjiwarongo to Duane's farm - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2022

Otjiwarongo to Duane's farm

Happy day ðŸš²

People, I am back on the bike!!!!  Before we new I'd be hanging out in Windhoek for so long, Hermann reached out in one of the Namibia FB groups to see if anyone had suggestions for a place to stay between Otjiwarongo and Otavi as the distance was too far for me in a day.  A guy named Duane reached out and said I could camp at his farm.  He actually followed up a couple of weeks ago and I got my act together and messaged him.  Now, I don't even need to camp, he has a room I can stay in.  

It was going to be close to a 50 mile day for my first day back and I was very nervous about it.  That's a lot for me given how long I've been off my bike and that I'm still recovering from being sick.  I joked about maybe needing a rescue and he said I could call near the end if things got to messy.  Nice to know I had that in my back pocket just in case.  Didn't even need to call for a rescue.  As I was riding along, a truck pulls over and out jumps Duane.  He is driving into Otjiwarongo and he can pick me up on the way back.  Perfect.  I cycled another 10 miles or so and then relaxed at a rest area and let him now where I was.    I was getting kind of tired, but I am so happy to be back out on my bike.  In other news, my butt is going to take a week or so to get reacquainted to my bike seat!  Definitely still feel the fatigue in my lungs, but all in all, a good first day back on the bike.

But, just when you thought it was over, my day only got better.  Turns out Duane is the manager of a game farm.  His girlfriend, Nicolena, was driving up from Windhoek, but she surprised him and arrived early.  And guess what, he took us both out on a game drive!

It’s taken a long time but “two,” two thousand miles pedaled
Heart 1 Comment 0
I want to see a warthog!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Termite mounds. There have been a lot of them!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just me out here again
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rest break! I love these rest areas as they usually have a nice big tree for shade
Heart 1 Comment 0
Selfie time while O wait for my ride
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked the shadows this tree created
Heart 0 Comment 0
Max has made himself very comfortable
Heart 0 Comment 0
Went out for a game drive and immediately saw three giraffes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Good night
Heart 1 Comment 0

   

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 2,541 miles (4,089 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0