Todos Santos to Cabo San Lucas - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

February 18, 2022

Todos Santos to Cabo San Lucas

Man, my last day on the bike had to be a tough one.  The temperature was the hottest it's been, which was only mid 80's, but the heat was getting to me.   A lady, Megan, had reached out to me weeks ago inviting me to stay when I got to Cabos.  She's also on Warmshowers.  She had offered to pick me up so I didn't have to ride through what would be horrendous city traffic.  She sent me the location of a restaurant.

The scenery was excellent today and I even saw a bunch of whales spouting.  In case you were wondering, I can ride faster than a whale as I watched then go down the shoreline with me.  The last 10 miles were really tough.  Hills, wind, heat.  I actually had to walk up one and was getting nauseious, which was clearly a heat issue.  However, as I was walking I noticed the trucks were barely chugging along so clearly, a tough hill.

I met my Warmshowers host just before two bigger hills.  Good thing we had this arranged as the bigger hills would have finished me off.  She came looking for me.  I only had one mile left to our meet up point, but it was a slight uphill and let's just say I was really happy to see her!

Spent a pleasant evening visiting and she fixed a delicious pasta/pesto dinner.  And with that, biking in Mexico is finished.  Although I enjoyed my time, I didn't realized how much desert there would be in Baja and how far distances between towns would be.  I met some great and kind people along the way which always creates lasting memories.  Glad I did it, but wouldn't be dying to go back to Baja again to cycle

Rest/organization days

Megan and Barry have a beautiful condo with an ocean view.  The grounds are absolutely so peaceful and relaxing.  They have bicycled in Europe quite a bit and Megan and I definitely are the same as far as planning goes.  Love it!  It was fun visiting with them and hearing about their tours.

They went above and beyond in hosting me and helping me with errands to get ready for Africa and my flight back to America.  I needed Malaria tables and a typhoid injection as well as some other meds.  Managed to get it all sorted out and am ready.  The only touristy thing I did was to take the bus down to the Marina and walk around.  If you are into nightlife and partying, that would be the place to be in the evenings.  I am not, so although it was nice to see.  Would have loved to take a kayak trip out to the arch, but I am so busy preparing for Africa, that has priority.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
You have no idea how happy I was to be in a modern, clean grocery store! It's the little things...
Heart 0 Comment 0
And Baja is complete!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful condo grounds and views
Heart 0 Comment 0
Megan and Barry's dog likes me
Heart 1 Comment 0
a final flower picture
Heart 0 Comment 0
The marina in Cabo San Lucas. I think I see my boat out there!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Such beautiful grounds. I was very grateful to have such a nice place to end my time in Baja.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought these shirts were hilarious!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The famous arch in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Megan and I went out to a farm for some special bread. There were sunflowers everywhere!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
If I have to fix a flat tire, may as well do it somewhere where I can enjoy the view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Megan and Barry
Heart 0 Comment 0
The end. Thanks for following along. Next up, Africa
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 1,744 miles (2,807 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0